Click here to Skip to main content
Derrick Rose averaged 25.0 points and 7.7 assists during the 2010-11 regular season.
Rocky Widner/NBAE via Getty Images

Chicago's Derrick Rose Wins 2010-11 Kia NBA MVP Award

By Official release
Posted May 3 2011 5:30PM

NEW YORK -- Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2010-11 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, the NBA announced today. Rose, who does not turn 23 until Oct. 4, becomes the league's youngest MVP, a distinction previously held by Wes Unseld, who earned the honor in 1968-69 as a 23-year-old.

Rose totaled 1,182 points including 113 first-place votes, from a panel of 120 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada as well as an NBA MVP fan vote. For the second consecutive season, the NBA and Kia Motors America gave fans the opportunity to submit their votes by ranking their top five choices through a dedicated Web page on The fan vote counted as one vote and was compiled with the 120 media votes to determine the winner. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for third, three for fourth and one for each fifth-place vote received.

Rounding out the top five in voting are Orlando's Dwight Howard (643 points, three first place), Miami's LeBron James (522, four first-place votes), the Los Angeles Lakers' Kobe Bryant (428, one first-place vote) and Oklahoma City's Kevin Durant (190).

Rose, who became the first player since Steve Nash in 2005 to win the MVP award after not receiving any votes in the previous year's balloting, led the Bulls to an NBA-best 62-20 mark. The third-year player averaged team highs of 25.0 points and 7.7 assists to go along with 4.1 rebounds. He became the seventh player in NBA history to average at least 25.0 points,

7.5 assists and 4.0 rebounds, joining Oscar Robertson, Jerry West, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Dwyane Wade and LeBron James. The All-Star guard made or assisted on at least half of the Bulls' field goals in 26 games, the highest such total for any NBA player this season.

As part of its support of the Most Valuable Player Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV to Meals on Wheels Chicago, which provides home-delivered meals services to people in need. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of four

2010-11 season-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 16 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.

Rose, who recorded 23 double-doubles and scored at least 30 points on 23 occasions after doing so eight times combined in his first two seasons, was the only player in the NBA to rank in the top 10 in scoring (seventh) and assists (10th). Only once in team history had a Bulls player finished in the top 10 in scoring and assists (Michael Jordan, 1988-89). Rose tallied

2,026 points, 623 assists and 330 rebounds, becoming only the fifth player in NBA history to post 2,000 points, 600 assists and 300 rebounds in a single season as he joined Robertson, John Havlicek, Jordan and James.

The NBA MVP trophy is named in honor of the late Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.

The 2010-11 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fourth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Defensive Player and Sixth Man Awards. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit

2010-11 Kia NBA MVP Award Results
Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total Points
Derrick Rose, Chicago 113 6 2 -- -- 1182
Dwight Howard, Orlando 3 57 31 16 11 643
LeBron James, Miami 4 26 39 31 12 522
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers 1 18 32 40 12 428
Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City -- 6 10 20 38 190
Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas -- 5 3 11 30 113
Dwyane Wade, Miami -- 1 1 2 6 24
Manu Ginobili, San Antonio -- 2 -- -- 6 20
Amar'e Stoudemire, New York -- -- 1 -- 4 9
Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers -- -- 1 -- -- 5
Rajon Rondo, Boston -- -- 1 -- -- 5
Tony Parker, San Antonio -- -- -- 1 -- 3
Chris Paul, New Orleans -- -- -- -- 2 2

All-Time MVP Winners

Season - Player, Team
- Bob Pettit, St. Louis
1956-57 - Bob Cousy, Boston
1957-58 - Bill Russell, Boston
1958-59 - Bob Pettit, St. Louis
1959-60 - Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1960-61 - Bill Russell, Boston
1961-62 - Bill Russell, Boston
1962-63 - Bill Russell, Boston
1963-64 - Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati
1964-65 - Bill Russell, Boston
1965-66 - Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1966-67 - Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1967-68 - Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia
1968-69 - Wes Unseld, Baltimore
1969-70 - Willis Reed, New York
1970-71 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1971-72 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1972-73 - Dave Cowens, Boston
1973-74 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1974-75 - Bob McAdoo, Buffalo
1975-76 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles
1976-77 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles
1977-78 - Bill Walton, Portland
1978-79 - Moses Malone, Houston
1979-80 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles
1980-81 - Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1981-82 - Moses Malone, Houston
1982-83 - Moses Malone, Philadelphia
1983-84 - Larry Bird, Boston
1984-85 - Larry Bird, Boston
1985-86 - Larry Bird, Boston
1986-87 - Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers
1987-88 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89 - Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers
1989-90 - Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers
1990-91 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1991-92 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1992-93 - Charles Barkley, Phoenix|
1993-94 - Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95 - David Robinson, San Antonio
1995-96 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1996-97 - Karl Malone, Utah
1997-98 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1998-99 - Karl Malone, Utah
1999-00 - Shaquille O'Neal, L.A. Lakers
2000-01 - Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
2001-02 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2002-03 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2003-04 - Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2004-05 - Steve Nash, Phoenix
2005-06 - Steve Nash, Phoenix
2006-07 - Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2007-08 - Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
2008-09 - LeBron James, Cleveland
2009-10 - LeBron James, Cleveland
2010-11 - Derrick Rose, Chicago


photoFinish and Foul
Tyson Chandler grabs the rebound, slams it home and is fouled by Pau Gasol.
photoAngry Phil
Phil Jackson gets very upset and yells at Pau Gasol and Andrew Bynum to stop bickering.
photoBulls vs. Hawks: Game 3
Derrick Rose scores a playoff career-high 44 points as the bulls take a 2-1 lead in the series.
photoHoop and Harm
Dirk Nowitzki nails the jumper and is fouled by Kobe Bryant.
photoHorford Dunk
Josh Smith throws the no-look pass to Al Horford for the slam.
photoSoft and Smooth
Derrick Rose splits the entire Hawks defense and nails the teardrop over Jeff Teague.
photoNoah Finds Rose
Joakim Noah makes a great bounce pass to a cutting Derrick Rose who finishes over Josh Smith
photoStop and Pop
Derrick Rose drills a 3-pointer to give the Bulls their largest lead of the series, 54-35.
photoPlayoff Career-High for Rose
Derrick Rose scores a playoff career-high 44 points against the Hawks in Game 3.
photoRose Stopper
Josh Smith chases down Derrick Rose and denies him an easy bucket.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. is part of Turner - SI Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.