Join the BSFA

Register  Login

This page provides information about all the previous winners of the BSFA awards. Shortlists, and full lists of nominations received, are also available online for the past few years of the award.

Note that no presentation in the Media category (now discontinued) was made until 1978, and none in the Short or Artist categories until 1979.

The Non-Fiction category was introduced from 2001 and has been voted on in a variety of ways. It was suspended for 2004. A new approach was piloted for 2005 with a small judging panel selecting a winner and a wider 'recommended reading' list following nominations by BSFA members; for 2006 a recommended reading list was produced from nominations received without an overall winner being selected. These lists can be accessed via the 'recent shortlists' tab.

Please note that the BSFA awards are given for the year of eligibility, not the year of presentation (thus the 2006 awards were given for items published in 2006).

Information about the current awards process can be found here.


Novel: End of the World Blues by Jon Courtenay Grimwood (Gollancz)

Short fiction: 'The Djinn's Wife' by Ian McDonald (Asimov's, June)

Artwork: 'Angelbot' by Fangorn (cover of the collection Time Pieces, ed. Ian Whates)


Novel: Air by Geoff Ryman

Short fiction: 'Magic for Beginners' by Kelly Link

Artwork: Cover of Interzone 200 by Pawel Lewandowski

Non-fiction: Soundings: Reviews 1992-1996 by Gary K Wolfe


Novel: River of Gods by Ian McDonald

Short fiction: 'Mayflower II' by Stephen Baxter (PS Publishing)

Artwork: Cover of Ken MacLeod's novel Newton's Wake by Stephan Martinière (Tor)


Novel: Felaheen by Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Short Fiction: 'The Wolves in the Walls' by Neil Gaiman & Dave McKean

Artwork: Cover of The True Knowledge of Ken MacLeod by Colin Odell

Nonfiction: 'Reading Science Fiction' by Farah Mendlesohn (Introduction to The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction, edited by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn).


Novel: The Separation by Christopher Priest

Short Fiction: 'Coraline' by Neil Gaiman

Artwork: Cover of Interzone 179 by Dominic Harman

Related Publication: Introduction to Maps: The Uncollected John Sladek by David Langford


Novel: Chasm City by Alastair Reynolds

Short Story: 'Children of Winter' by Eric Brown

Artwork: Cover of Omegatropic by Colin Odell

Non-fiction: Omegatropic by Stephen Baxter


Novel: Ash: A Secret History by Mary Gentle

Short: 'The Suspect Genome' by Peter F Hamilton

Artwork: 'Hideaway' by Dominic Harman (cover of Interzone 157)



Novel: The Sky Road by Ken MacLeod

Short: 'Hunting the Slarque' by Eric Brown

Artwork: 'Darwinia' by Jim Burns (cover of Darwinia by Robert Charles Wilson) 


Novel: The Extremes by Christopher Priest

Short: 'La Cenerentola' by Gwyneth Jones

Artwork: 'Lord Prestimion' by Jim Burns (cover of Interzone 138)


Novel: The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell

Short: War Birds by Stephen Baxter

Artwork: The Black Blood of the Dead by SMS (cover of Interzone 116)


Novel: Excession by Iain M Banks

Short: 'A Crab Must Try' by Barrington J Bayley

Artwork: Cover of Jack McDevitt's novel Ancient Shores by Jim Burns


Novel: The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter

Short: 'The Hunger and Ecstasy of Vampires' by Brian Stableford (shorter version, published in Interzone)

Artwork: Cover of Colin Greenland's novel Seasons of Plenty by Jim Burns


Novel: Feersum Endjinn by Iain M Banks

Short: 'The Double Felix' by Paul di Filippo

Artwork: Jim Burns


Novel: Aztec Century by Christopher Evans

Short: 'The Ragthorn' by Robert P Holdstock and Garry Kilworth

Artwork: Jim Burns

Special Award: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction ed. John Clute and Peter Nicholls


Novel: Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

Short: 'Innocent' by Ian McDonald

Artwork: Jim Burns


Novel: The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Short: 'Bad Timing' by Molly Brown

Media: Terminator 2: Judgement Day

Artwork: Mark Harrison


Novel: Take Back Plenty by Colin Greenland

Short: 'The Original Doctor Shade' by Kim Newman

Media: Twin Peaks

Artist: Ian Miller


Novel: Pyramids by Terry Pratchett

Short: 'In Translation' by Lisa Tuttle

Media: Red Dwarf

Artist: Jim Burns


Novel: Lavondyss by Robert P Holdstock

Short: 'Dark Night in Toyland' by Bob Shaw

Media: Who Framed Roger Rabbit?

Artist: Alan Lee


Novel: Grainne by Keith Roberts

Short: 'Love Sickness' by Geoff Ryman

Media: Star Cops

Artist: Jim Burns


Novel: The Ragged Astronauts by Bob Shaw

Short: 'Kaeti and the Hangman' by Keith Roberts

Media: Aliens

Artist: Keith Roberts


Novel: Helliconia Winter by Brian W Aldiss

Short: 'Cube Root' by David Langford

Media: Brazil

Artist: Jim Burns


Novel: Mythago Wood by Robert P Holdstock

Short: 'The Unconquered Country' by Geoff Ryman

Media: The Company of Wolves

Artist: Jim Burns


Novel: Tik-Tok by John T Sladek

Short: 'After-Images' by Malcolm Edwards

Media: Android

Artist: Bruce Pennington


Novel: Helliconia Spring by Brian W Aldiss

Short: 'Kitemaster' by Keith Roberts

Media: Blade Runner

Artist: Tim White


Novel: The Shadow of the Torturer by Gene Wolfe

Short: 'Mythago Wood' by Robert P Holdstock

Media: Time Bandits

Artist: Bruce Pennington


Novel: Timescape by Gregory Benford

Short: 'The Brave Little Toaster' by Thomas M Disch

Media: The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy (second radio series) by Douglas Adams

Artist: Peter Jones


Novel: The Unlimited Dream Company by J G Ballard

Short: 'Palely Loitering' by Christopher Priest

Media: The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy (record) by Douglas Adams

Artist: Jim Burns


Novel: A Scanner Darkly by Philip K Dick

Collection: Deathbird Stories by Harlan Ellison

Media: The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy (radio series) by Douglas Adams


Novel: The Jonah Kit by Ian Watson


Novel: Brontomek! by Michael G Coney

Special Award: A Pictorial History of Science Fiction by David Kyle


Novel: Orbitsville by Bob Shaw


Novel: Inverted World by Christopher Priest


Novel: Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C Clarke

Special Award: Billion Year Spree by Brian W Aldiss


No award - insufficient votes.


Collection: The Moment of Eclipse by Brian Aldiss


Novel: The Jagged Orbit by John Brunner


Novel: Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner