Springfield Area District Springfield Area District Contact, Survey, Jobs, News, Site Map
Our mission is to provide a world-class transportation experience that delights our customers and promotes a prosperous Missouri.

Diverging Diamond Interchange Information:

Currently, there are two Diverging Diamond Interchanges open to traffic in the Springfield region.  The interchange on Route 13 (Kansas Expressway) at I-44 opened in June 2009.  The Route 13/I-44 interchange was the first of its kind built in the United States.  The second interchange on National Avenue at Route 60 (James River Freeway) opened in July 2010. 

A third interchange is under construction in Branson on Route 248 at Route 65.

Three other interchanges are planned in the Springfield region at Christian County Route CC/J at Route 65 in Ozark, Battlefield Road at Route 65 and Chestnut Expressway (Bus. 65) at Route 65, both in Springfield.

Reasons for using a Diverging Diamond Interchange design:

MoDOT engineers believe the Diverging Diamond Interchange is a good fit for some interchanges where space and funds are limited. The design helps relieve congestion in a tight area and is a quicker, cheaper reconstruction than more conventional interchange projects:

  • The existing bridges can remain in place.  It may be necessary to widen them, but the most of the structures are in good shape to use with the DDI design.
  • Construction is shortened because the existing interchange bridge and ramps can be used, but with some modifications. That means a shorter time period for traffic disruptions.
  • Since much of the existing infrastructure can be used it is cheaper to build.
  • A DDI interchange can reduce traffic congestion by up to 50%.
  • Left-turn crashes are eliminated and rear-end crashes reduced.

How do I drive through the Diverging Diamond Interchange?

(computer animation)

What does a Diverging Diamond Interchange Look Like?

For more information, contact our Springfield District Office at 417-895-7600 or 1-888-ASK-MoDOT (275-6636).

Last updated: June 2011.

CONTACT CONTACT CAREERS CAREERS NEWS NEWS SITEMAP SITEMAP Kansas City Area Southwest District North Central District Central District Springfield Area Northeast District St. Louis Area South Central District Southeast District Northwest District