

# Article 10 – Shire Committees

#### 10.1 Shire Committees

The Council shall appoint annually at the Annual Meeting three shire committees. Those shire committees shall cover the areas of Brecknockshire, Radnorshire and Montgomeryshire. Every councillor shall be a member of the one shire committee in whose area his / her electoral division is situated. These Committees and their Sub-Committees are exempt from the political balance requirements which apply to other Council committees and sub-committees.

The number of Councillors serving on each of the Shire Committees shall be as follows:

Brecknockshire - 24 councillors Radnorshire - 15 councillors Montgomeryshire - 34 councillors

#### 10.2 Chair of a Shire Committee.

The Chair of a Shire Committee will be a councillor elected annually by the Shire Committee at their first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council, or at an ordinary meeting in the event of a vacancy occurring between Annual Meetings of the County Council.

The Chair of a Shire Committee will hold office until:

- (a) the first meeting of the Shire Committee which follows the next Annual Meeting of the County Council after the member's appointment.
- (b) he / she resigns from the office; or
- (c) he / she is suspended from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (although he/she may resume office at the end of the period of suspension); or
- (d) he / she is disqualified from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000.
- (e) he / she is no longer a councillor; or
- (f) in the event of a vote of no confidence in the Chair of the Shire Committee being passed by the Shire Committee following a Motion on Notice.

Whichever shall first occur.



### 10.3 Vice-Chair of the Shire Committee.

The Vice-Chair of the Shire Committee will be a councillor elected annually by the Shire Committee at their first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council, or at an ordinary meeting in the event of a vacancy occurring between Annual Meetings of the County Council.

The Vice-Chair of the Shire Committee will hold office until:

- (a) the first meeting of the Shire Committee which follows the next Annual Meeting of the County Council after the member's appointment.
- (b) he / she resigns from the office; or
- (c) he / she is suspended from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (although he/she may resume office at the end of the period of suspension); or
- (d) he / she is disqualified from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000.
- (e) he / she is no longer a councillor; or
- (f) in the event of a vote of no confidence in the Vice-Chair of the Shire Committee being passed by the Shire Committee following a Motion on Notice.

Whichever shall first occur.

### 10.4 Shire Sub-Committees.

- (a) The Shire Committee for Montgomeryshire shall appoint annually at its first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council the following 2 Sub-Committees namely:
  - (i) The Montgomeryshire Business Grants Sub-Committee.
  - (ii) The Montgomeryshire Built Heritage Grants Sub-Committee.
- (b) The Shire Committee for Brecknockshire shall appoint annually at its first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council the Brecknockshire Business Grants Sub-Committee.
- (c) The Shire Committee for Radnorshire shall appoint annually at its first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council the Radnorshire Business Grants Sub-Committee.



The Membership and functions of the above Sub-Committees are detailed in Part 3 – Section 3 – Responsibility for Functions.

# 10.5 Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Shire Sub-Committees.

The Chairs and Vice-Chairs of those Shire Sub-Committees referred to above will be councillors elected annually by the respective Shire Sub-Committee at that Sub-Committee's first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the County Council, or at an ordinary meeting of the Sub-Committee in the event of a vacancy occurring between Annual Meetings of the County Council.

The Chairs and / or Vice-Chairs of a Shire Sub-Committee will hold office until:

- (a) the first meeting of the Shire Sub-Committee which follows the next Annual Meeting of the County Council after the member's appointment.
- (b) he / she resigns from the office; or
- (c) he / she is suspended from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (although he/she may resume office at the end of the period of suspension); or
- (d) he / she is disqualified from being a councillor under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000.
- (e) he / she is no longer a councillor; or
- (f) in the event of a vote of no confidence in the Chair or, as the case may be, Vice-Chair being passed by the Shire Sub-Committee following a Motion on Notice.

Whichever shall first occur.

### 10.6 Functions Delegated to Shire Committees.

- (a) Each Shire Committee shall, within their area, exercise those Council functions delegated to them by the Council (Part 3, Section 2 of this Constitution) and those Board functions delegated to them by the Board (Part 3, Section 3 of this Constitution).
- (b) The Council and the Board will include details of the delegations to Shire Committees in Part 3 of this Constitution, including the functions delegated showing which are the responsibility of the Board and which are not, budgets and any limitations on delegation.



- (c) A work programme will be prepared annually in March and updated during the year as appropriate.
- (d) Shire Committees have a responsibility to monitor the Council's performance in delivering services within localities in the respective Shire areas.

## 10.7 Functions Delegated to Shire Sub-Committees.

- (a) Each Shire Sub-Committee referred to above shall, within their area, exercise those functions delegated to them by the Shire Committee.
- (b) Details of the delegations to Shire Sub-Committees shall be included in Part 3 of this Constitution, including budgets and any limitations on delegation.

### 10.8 Shire Committees and Sub-Committees – Access to Information

Shire Committees and their Sub-Committees will comply with the Access to Information Rules in Part 4 of this Constitution.

### 10.9 Board Members on Shire Committees and Sub-Committees.

A member of the Board may serve on a Shire Committee or its Sub-Committees if otherwise eligible to do so as a councillor.