2011 Competition

Anne Golaz

5 winners have been chosen, and 2 commendations awarded. Their works will be exhibited in the festival…

Marion Burnier     Matthieu Gafsou     Anne Golaz     Daniel Shea     Awoiska van der Molen

In 2010, a competition was organised for Swiss and international photographers under 40 years of age. The winners are Marion Burnier (Switzerland), Matthieu Gafsou (France/Switzerland), Anne Golaz (Switzerland), Daniel Shea (USA) and Awoiska van der Molen (the Netherlands). Each one will have a solo show. Two commendations have been awarded to Stéphanie Gygax (Switzerland) and Studio A (Switzerland).

The members of the jury were Elena Foster, President of the jury (Spain, Ivorypress, Madrid/London), Marco Costantini (Italy/Switzerland, independent curator, art critic, Lausanne), Mirjam Fischer (Austria, Edition Patrick Frey, Zürich), Jean-Pierre Neff (Switzerland, representative of Rossinière), Nicolas Savary (Switzerland/France, photographer, teacher, Ecole de photographie Vevey), Thomas Seelig (Germany, curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur).

The jury examined 88 portfolios. 40 of them were from Switzerland, 36 from Europe, 9 from North America, 2 from Asia and 1 from the Middle East. The diversity of approaches taken by the candidates on the theme of ‘the mountain’ stimulated a debate among the members of the jury, who were curious to see how this theme was being adressed by photographers today.

This is the second time that the festival organizes the competition. In 2008, the jury selected five talented photographers: Tonatiuh Ambrosetti, Raphael Hefti, Anne-Sophie Küch, Eva Lauterlein, Camille Scherrer, Benoît Vollmer.