## County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Box 6960 Wetaskiwin, AB, T9A 2G5

Phone: 780-352-3321 Fax: 780-352-3486

Website: www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca



## **NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release October 22, 2010

## 2010 Municipal Election

The excitement continued in the race in Division 1 between Mr. Rod Harink and incumbent Mrs. Brenda Shantz, when an administrative error was found in Election headquarters with the recording of data coming in from the voting station. The administrative error occurred when Mr. Harink's 59 votes at the Malmo polling station were inadvertently recorded as 69 votes at headquarters.

Originally the numbers had indicated a tie between the two candidates and the process used on Election night to break the tie was in accordance with Section 99 of the Local Authorities Election Act, with Mrs. Brenda Shantz unofficially declared the elected candidate.

The Returning Officer discovered the error on Tuesday when reviewing and verifying the data which is returned from the Presiding Deputy Returning Officers to headquarters. Receiving the ballot boxes and signed forms and verifying data the day after the election is a standard practice in rural Alberta.

On October 21, 2010 the Returning Officer conducted a recount for Division 1 in the presence of Rod Harink and Brenda Shantz. The result of the recount was Harink (124) and Shantz (133), and once again the incumbent Brenda Shantz was unofficially declared the elected candidate.

The County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 conducted elections in five (5) divisions with seventeen (17) candidates interested in competing for a Council position. The successful candidates are as follows: Division 1 – Brenda Shantz (incumbent), Division 2 – Terry Van De Kraats, Division 3 – Garry Dearing (acclaimed incumbent), Division 4 – Wayne Meyers (acclaimed incumbent), Division 5 – Larry McKeever (incumbent), Division 6 – Kathy Rooyakers and Division 7 – Barry Dunn (incumbent). Results are considered official at noon on the fourth day following the election pursuant to Section 97.2 of the Local Authorities Election Act.

Voter turnout was extremely high compared to provincial averages and previous elections with a combined total of 2323 voters out of a possible 5682 (40.9%). By division the turnout was as follows: Division 1 - 43.2%, Division 2 - 29.6%, Division 5 - 35.9%, Division 6 - 46.4% and Division 7 - 52.0%.

Three of the successful candidates were elected by a margin of 20 votes or less. This is a true indication that every vote really does count! Thank you to every individual who exercised their right in this democratic process. Your voice has been heard!

- 30 -