Architecture  

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886-1969) must be counted among the founders of modern architecture and design. One of the most emulated architects of the 20th century, he was a master teacher of architecture for nearly three decades.
Mies came to Illinois Institute of Technology to head the university's Department of Architecture soon after the closing of Bauhaus, the renowned design school that flourished in Germany from 1919 until the rise of Nazism in 1933. During his 20 years as chairman of the department (1938-58), he established a curriculum based on the Bauhaus philosophy of synthesizing aesthetics and technology. His emphasis on a strong grounding in the fundamentals of architecture and on a disciplined method of problem solving is reflected in IIT's curriculum today.

Throughout his distinguished career, Mies influenced countless architects and they in turn made his theories into a movement. His own designs - ranging from the Barcelona Pavilion in Spain to the Seagram Building in New York to IIT's S. R. Crown Hall - changed the skylines of cities throughout the world. Crown hall, depicted on the commemorative stamp, was erected in 1955 and was considered by Mies to be one of his greatest architectural achievements. To provide for a flexible, columnless interior, Mies suspended the roof from four steel girders supported by eight external columns spaced 60 feet apart. The home of IIT's College of Architecture, Planning, and Design, Crown Hall has been described as an "immortal contribution to the architecture of Chicago and the world."

The master plan of the IIT campus, designed by Mies in 1941, was one of the largest projects he ever conceived and the only one to come so close to achieving complete realization. The campus encompasses 20 of his buildings, the greatest concentration of Mies-designed buildings in the world. Thanks to the first chairman of its architecture department, IIT's campus is considered an architectural landmark of Chicago.

In the years since most of the buildings were erected, IIT has grown into a major university. It consists of 50 buildings spanning 120 acres and is located just three miles south of the center of one of the world's great cities.

IIT is a private, medium-sized research university with a distinguished community of scholars educating leaders in the problem solving, decision-making professions. It offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in engineering, science, architecture, design, business administration, and law.

100 [Hundert] Jahre Architektur in Chicago, Kontinuität von Struktur und Form / die Neue Sammlung, Staatl. Museum f. Angewandte Kunst, München. [Konzeption u. Inh.: Oswald W. Grube in Zusammenarb. mit Peter C. von Seidlein u. Wend Fischer]. München: Neue Sammlung, 1973. 161 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plates, plans, exterior views, portraits, interior view, maps, aerials, perspectives, sections, elevations, details, drawings, site plans,
Notes: Photos of IIT buildings. Bibliography p. 158-60

Achilles, Rolf; Myhrum, Charlotte.
Guide to the campus of the Illinois Institute of Technology. Chicago, Mies Centennial Project, 1986. 23 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior views, map
Notes: Photos of IIT buildings. A picture of Mies, James C. Peebles and the president of IIT, Henry T. Heald

Achilles, Rolf; Myhrum, Charlotte. IIT.
Mies van der Rohe, architect as educator: 6 June through 12 July 1986: catalogue for the exhibition. Chicago: Mies van der Rohe Centennial Project; IIT; University of Chicago Press, 1986. 168 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Sketches, plans, details, projects, interior views, photos b/w, models, portraits, drawings, isometric, elevations, aerials
Notes: Bibliographic references. Mies photos and portraits. List of IIT Architecture Faculty and Students: 1938-1958 and subjects, p.151

Barry Friedman Ltd
The Bauhaus: Masters and Students. New York: Barry Friedman Ltd, 1988. 128 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, plans, models, portraits, paintings, furniture, miscellaneous, textile, ceramics, metalwork, lighting, glass, perspectives.
Notes: Exhibition catalog. Index of artists p. 127

Bauhaus, German exhibition catalog, Illinois Institute of Technology, August 25 through September 26, 1969. Chicago: Illinois Institute of Technology, 1969 365 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w and color, Sketches, plans, details, projects, interior views, exterior views, models, sculptures, portraits, drawings, isometric, elevations, aerials, maps.
Notes: Bibliography, general p. 339. Bibliographies p. 340-359. Index p. 361-362.

Blake, Peter
The Master builders: Le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, Frank Lloyd Wright. New York; London: W.W. Norton, 1976. Book 430 p.: ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, exterior views, interior views, models, projects, drawings
Notes: Index p. 424

Blake, Peter
The Master builders: Le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, Frank Lloyd Wright. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1960. 339 p. + IX
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, exterior views, interior views, models, projects, drawings
Notes: Index p. I-IX

Blaser, Wermer
Mies van der Rohe. Crown Hall, Illinois institute of Technology, Chicago. The Department of Architecture. Basel; Boston; Berlin: Birkhauser, 2001. 83 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, interior views, exterior views, sections, plans
Notes: biography p. 76

Blaser, Wermer
After Mies: Mies van der Rohe teaching and principles. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1977. 291 p. :ill.
Illustrations: plans, plans, interior views, photos b/w, drawings, elevations, perspectives, sections, projects, exterior views, models
Notes: photocopy, bibliographical references, index

Blaser, Werner
Drawings of great buildings=Zeichnungen grosser Bauten. Basel [Switzerland]; Boston: Birkhauser Varlag, 1983. 175 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Plans, facades, sections
Notes: English, German. Crown Hall p. 159. Index, Bibliography p. 170

Blaser, Werner
Il design di Mies van der Rohe: movili e interni. Milan: electra, 1980. 143 . : ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, interior views, models, details, drawings, sketches, portraits
Notes: Bibliography p. 142, index names p.143. Italian

Blaser, Werner.
Il design di Mies van der Rohe: furniture and interiors. NY; Woodbury; London; Toronto: Barrons, 1982. 143 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, plans, interior views, models, details, drawings, sketches, portraits
Notes: Bibliography p. 142, index names p.143

Blaser, Werner.
Mies van der Rohe. Sixth Ed. Basel; Boston; Berlin: Birkhauser Verlag, 1997. 246 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Facades, plans, details, drawings, perspectives, sections, collages, models, interior views, exterior views, photos b/w
Notes: Biography p. 231, buildings list p. 232, bibliography p. 236-242. German, English.

Blaser, Werner.
Mies van der Rohe. Second Ed. Bologna: Zanichelli, 1991. 199 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Facades, plans, details, drawings, perspectives, sections, collages, models, interior views, exterior views, photos b/w
Notes: Biography p. 194, buildings list p. 195, bibliography p. 198. Italian

Blaser, Werner.
Mies van de Rohe: continuing the Chicago School of Architecture. Second Ed. Basel, Boston, Stuttgart: Birkhauser Verlag, 1981. 307 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior views, sketches, drawings, facades, plans, site plans, elevations, models details, perspectives
Notes: Bibliographical references, IIT record and Mies Office Employment.

Blaser, Werner.
Mies van der Rohe: Farnsworth House weekend house = Wochenendhaus. Basel; Boston; Berlin: Birkhauser, 1999. 82 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior views, sketches, drawings, facades, plans, site plans, elevations, models details, perspectives
Notes: German and English

Blaser, Werner.
Mies van der Rohe: Lake Shore Drive apartments high-rise building = Wohnhochhaus. Basel; Boston: Birkhauset, 1999. 89 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, exterior views, perspectives, portraits, charts, plans, aerials, drawings, sections.
Notes: German and English.

Blaser, Werner
Mies van der Rohe: less in more. Zurich; New York: Waser Verlag, 1986. p. 183 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Drawings, plans, exterior views, models, facades, elevations, sketches, aerials, photos b/w, portraits
Notes: Bibliography p. 179-183, biography p.178, buildings and projects list p. 180-183

Blaser, Werner
Mies van der Rohe: the art of structure. Zurich, Stuttgart: Architectural Publisher, 1965. 226 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w ,plans, exteriors views, models, details, elevations, drawings
Notes: Biography p. 222, buildings list p. 223, IIT

Blaser, Werner
Mies van der Rohe: the art of structure. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1994. 238 p. :ill.
Illustrations: models, elevations, plans, exterior views, photos /w, aerials, sections, sketches, interior views
Notes: Bibliography p. 224, biography p. 220, buildings list p. 221, IIT

Blaser, Werner
Myron Goldsmith: Buildings and concepts. New York: Rizzoli, 1987. 192 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, exterior views, interior views, aerial views, plans, perspectives, elevations, sections, diagrams, drawings, models.
Notes: Translation of: Bauten und Konzepte. Bibliography p. 187-189, index p. 190, acknowledgements p. 191, photo credits p. 192.

Blaser, Werner
West meets east: Mies van der Rohe. Besel; Boston; Berlin: Birkhauser, 1996. 127 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior views, interior views, plans, perspectives, facades, drawings
Notes: Bibliography p. 127

Board of the Mies van der Rohe German Pavilion in Barcelona. Mies van der Rohe German Pavilion in Barcelona = Deustche Pavillion von Mies van der Rohe in Barcelona. Barcelona: Feria de Barcelona, 1983. [11] p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, exterior views, interior views, aerials, perspectives, model, portraits
Notes: English, German. Attached list of the Board.

Caldwell, Alfred
The City in the landscape: a preface for planning. [Chicago]: Illinois Institute of Technology, 1948. 99 p.
Notes: footnotes. Thesis for a Master Degree of Master of Science in City Planning in the Graduate School of IIT

Caldwell, Alfred
Other authors: Blum Betty J.
Oral history of Alfred Caldwell / interviewed by Betty J. Blum ; compiled under the auspices of the Chicago. Architects Oral History Project, Department of Architecture, the Art Institute of Chicago.
Chicago : The Institute, 1987. 207 leaves
Notes: Transcript of an interview. Includes index. Bibliography: leaves 202-203.

Canadian Center for Architecture
Myron Goldsmith, Poete de la structure. Montreal: Canadian Center for Architecture, 1991. p. 35. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, exterior views, interior views, plans, elevations, drawings, sketches.
Notes: Bibliography p. 35

Carter, Peter.
Mies van der Rohe at work. London: Phaidon, 1999. 192 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, sketches, interior views, exterior views, models, plans, collages, details, elevations, facades
Notes: Originally published: 1974. Includes bibliographical references (p. 190) and index.

Cohen, Jean-Luis, 1949-
Mies van der Rohe. London; New York: Spon, 1996. 143 p. : ill.,
Illustrations: Portraits, photos b/w, exterior views, interiors views, perspectives, plans, models, drawings, sections, collages, details
Notes: Translation from French original version. Biography p.131. Buildings list p.132-135. Bibliography p.137. Picture credits p. 138-140. Index p.141

Cohen, Jean-Luis, 1949-
Mies van der Rohe. Paris: Hazan, 1994. 143 p. : ill.,
Illustrations: Portraits, photos b/w, exterior views, interiors views, perspectives, plans, models, drawings, sections, collages, details
Notes: French. Original version. Biography p.131. Buildings list p.132-135. Bibliography p.137. Picture credits p. 138-140. Index p.141.

Dad Haus Tugendhat: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Brunn 1930. Sazburg: Anton Pustet, 1999. 192p. ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, photos color, plans, sections, interior views, exterior views, drawings
Notes: German, List of plans.

Daza, Ricardo.
Looking for Mies. Barcelona; Basel, Boston, Berlin: Actar, Birkhauser, 2000. 188 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, portraits, plans, aerials, drawings, models
Notes: Photo credits p. 181, footnotes p. 178

Der Vorbildliche Architet: Mies van der Rohes Architekturunterricht 1930-1958 am Bauhaus und in Chicago. Berlin: Das Archv: Nicolaische Verlagsbuchh [distributor], 1986. 186 p. : ill.
Illustrations: models, drawings, plans, details, sketches, elevations, exterior views, interior views, portraits, site plans, perspectives, sections, collages, aerials.
Notes: bibliographical references, exhibition catalogue, German.

Drexler, Arthur.
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. New York: George Braziller, 1960.127 p.: ill.
Illustrations: Projects, plans, exterior views, interior views, elevations, sketches, collages, photos b/w, models.
Notes: Bibliography p.117, buildings list p. 115, index p. 125

Drexler, Arthur; Schulze, Franz
The Mies van der Rohe: An Illustrated Catalogue of the Mies van der Rohe Drawings in the Museum of Modern Art. New York; London: Garland Pub., 1986. 20 vol.

Duckett, Edward A. ; Fujikawa, Joseph Y.; Shell, William S.
Impressions of Mies: an interview on Mies van der Rohe his early Chicago years 1938-1958, with former students, Edward A. Duckett and Joseph Y. Fujikwa. [s.n.]: [s.l.], 1988. 36 p. ;ill.
Illustrations: Portrait, model, project.
Notes: An interview conducted by Shell, William S.

Farmer, John D.; Weiss, Geraldine
Concept of the Bauhaus: The Busch-Reisinger Museum Collection. Cambridge: the presidential and Fellows of Harvard College. 1971. 136 p. ill
Illustrations: Photos b/w, portraits, plans, elevations, perspectives, drawings, models, sculptures.
Note: Works Exhibited p. 129-131. Works in Collection p.132-136.

Four great makers of modern architecture: Gropius, le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, Wright : the verbatim recod of a symposium held at the School of architecture, Columbia University, March-May 1961. New York: Da Capo Press, 1970. 296 p. ill.
Illustrations: plans, maps.
Notes: Biography, interview, reprint of the 1963 ed. Da Capo Press series in architecture and decorative art, vol. 37

Galerie Lutz & Thalmann
Hugo Weber. Zurich: Galerie Lutz & Thalmann, 1999. 26 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, portraits, paints.
Notes: Museum catalog. Bibliography.

Glaeser, Ludwig
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: Furniture and Furniture Drawings, from the Design Collection and Mies van der Rohe Archive. New York: The Museum of Modern Art. 1985, fourth printing. 88 p. ill.
Illustrations: Interior views, photos b/w, furniture drawings, sketches, chairs pictures.
Notes: bibliography p. 86-87, Trustees of The Museum of Art as of April 1985 p. 88.

Glaeser, Ludwig
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: Drawings in the Collection of the Museum of Modern Art. New York: The Museum of Modern Art. 1969. 70 p. ill.
Illustrations: Interior views, plans, poetries, sketches, drawings, models, perspectives.

Glaeser, Ludwig
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: Drawings in the Collection of the Museum of Modern Art. New York: The Museum of Modern Art. 1969. 70 p. ill.
Illustrations: Interior views, plans, poetries, sketches, drawings, models, perspectives.
Notes: copy number 14 from 125.

Glaeser, Ludwig
Mies van der Rohe: Farnsworth House, Plano, Illinois, 1945-50. Tokio: A.D.A. Edita, 1974. 47 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photo color, exterior view, interior view, plan, sections, details.
Notes: English and Japanese. Monographic number of the periodical Global Architecture Detail. Edited and photographed by Futagawa, Yukio.

Glaeser, Ludwig; Futagawa, Yukio
Crown Hall, IIT, Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A., 1952-56: New National Gallery, Berlin, West Germany, 1968. Tokyo, ADA Edita, 1972. 40 p. ill.
Illustrations: Interior views, exterior views, photos b/w, sections, aerials, plans, elevations
Notes: Monographic number of serial GA Global Architecture number 14

Goldsmith, Myron; Blum, Betty J.
Oral history of Myron Goldsmith; compiled under the auspices of the Chicago Architects of Oral History Project, Department of Architecture, The Art Institute of Chicago.
Chicago : The Institute, 1990. vii, 250 leaves (photocopy)
Notes: Transcript of an interview. Includes index. Bibliography: p. 242-243.

Gunther, Sonja
Lilly Reich 1885-1947: Innenarchitektin, Designerin, Asstellungsgestalterin. Stuttgart: Deutsche Verlags-Anstalt, 1988. 93 p. ill
Illustrations: Photos b/w, interior views, exterior views, plans, sections, elevations, drawings, details, furniture, clothes.
Notes: German. Index p.93, bibliographical references.

Hammer-Tugendhat, Daniela; Tegethoff, Wolf
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: the Tugendhat House. New York; Wien: Springer, 2000. 187 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, interior views, exterior views, portraits
Notes: Original photo from the time and life at the house. Bibliographical references p. 183-185

Heynen, Julian
Ein Ort fur kunst: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Haus Lange-Haus Esters=A place for art: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Haus Lange-Haus Esters. [Krefeld]: Krefeld Kunstmuseen, 1995. 74 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, interior views, exterior views, portraits, plans
Notes; English, German. Original photo from the time and life at the house. Includes bibliographical references p. 75

Hilberseimer, L.
Contemporary Architecture: Its Roots and Trends. Chicago: Paul Theobald, 1964. 221 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, art pictures, plans, exterior views, interior views, isometrics, Facades, models, aerials, perspectives.

Hilberseimer, L.
Mies van der Rohe. Chicago: Paul Theobald and Co., 1956. 199 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, facades, exterior views, sections, details, models, plans, sketches.

Hilberseimer, L.
The Nature of Cities: origin, growth, and decline, pattern and form, planning problems. Chicago: P. Theobald, 1955. 286 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, aerials, charts, diagrams, maps, plans, site plans, perspectives, exterior views, interiors views, models.

Hilberseimer, L.
The New regional pattern; industries and gardens, workshops and farms. Chicago: P. Theobald, 1949. 197 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, aerials, charts, diagrams, maps, site plans, perspectives
Notes: Bibliography p.195

Hochman, Elaine S.
Architects of fortune: Mies van der Rohe and the Third Reich. New York: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1989. 382 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Portraits, drawings, projects, photos b/w
Notes: Index 367, bibliography p. 353

Hulten, K. G. Pontus
The Machine, as seen at the end of the mechanical age. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1968. 218 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, portraits, drawings, paintings, projects, models, sculptures.
Notes: An Exhibition catalog. Notes p. 208-210, Bibliography p. 211, index p. 212-214, Trustees of Participating Institutions.

Illinois Institute of Technology.
Main campus guide. Chicago: Illinois Institute of Technology, 2000. [12]p. : ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, exterior views, map, projects
Notes: Official Guide for the visitors.

Illinois Institute of Technology.
S.R. Crown renovation study. November 1997. [Chicago]: [s.n.], 1997. x p. :Il.
Illustrations: details, plans, sections, elevations, site plans, exterior views, photos b/w
Notes: photocopy,

Johnson, Philip.
Mies van der Rohe. Third Ed. New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1978. 229 p. (2 copies)
Illustrations: Elevations, photos b/w, exterior views, interiors views, perspectives, plans, models, drawings, sections, collages, details.
Notes: Mies writings p. 181-197, chronology p. 198, list of works p. 199-200, bibliography p. 201-204, index p.205-207

Johnson, Philip.
Mies van der Rohe. New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1947. 207 p.
Illustrations: Elevations, photos b/w, exterior views, interiors views, perspectives, plans, models, drawings, sections, collages, details.
Notes: Mies writings p. 181-197, chronology p. 198, list of works p. 199-200, bibliography p. 201-204, index p.205-207

Kentgens-Craig, Margret
The Bauhaus and America, First Contacts 1919 - 1936. Cambridge; London: The MIT Press, 1999. 283 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior view, drawings.
Notes: Appendix p.233-245, bibliography p. 246-273, index p.274-283

Knoll Studio. New York: The Knoll Group, 1992. lam. + 215 p.
Illustrations: Color photos, details
Notes: furniture catalogue

Lambert, Phyllis Ed.
Mies in America. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2001. 790 p. :ill.+ Chronology
Illustrations: Photos b/w and color, site plans, drawings, sections, perspective, details, aerial, sketches, tables, plates, charts, diagrams, tables, axonometric, isometric, models, plans, exterior views, interior views, portraits, paintings
Notes: Catalogue of the exhibition: Mies in America. New York: Whitney Museum, 2001

Lohan, Dirk
Mies van der Rohe: Farnsworth House, Plano, Illinois, 1945-50. Tokio: A.D.A. Edita, 1976. 59 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior view, interior view, plans, elevations, sections, drawings, details.
Notes: Japanese. Monographic number of the periodical Global Architecture Detail.

Malcolmson, Reginald
Visionary Projects for Buildings and Cities. International Exhibitions Foundation, 1974. 16 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, models, portraits, details, elevations, sections, perspectives.
Notes: Exhibition catalog. Bibliography p. 16

Mc Clier
S.R. Crown Hall: Historic Structure Report. [Chicago]: Mc Clier, Oct 24, 2000. Report, XVI+ 80 p. +125 fig.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, color, plans, interior views, sketches, model, details, elevations
Notes: Non published report submitted by McClier for IIT, College of Architecture. Important study with all the plans on Crown Hall copied

McQuaid, Matilda; Droste, Magdalena.
Lilly Reich: Designer and Architect. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1996. 65p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, interior views, exterior views, sketches, details, elevations, furniture pictures.
Notes: Chronology p. 60-61, Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art p. 64.

Mertins, Detlef
The Presence of Mies. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1994. 271 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, interior views, exterior views, aerial views, sketches, details, elevations, sections, models, perspectives, portraits, projects.
Notes: "This publication follows the symposium…held on September 26, 1992 in the Council Chamber of Toronto City Hall to mark the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Toronto-Dominion Center".

Mies and modernism. The IIT Campus Tour: Tour manual.
Chicago: Chicago Architectural Foundation, 2001. 54 p.: ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, general view, interior views
Notes: appendix p.54, bibliography and sources p. 53

Mies van der Rohe: European works
London: Academy Editions; New York: St. Martin's Press. 112 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Sketches, drawings, plans, sections, details, models, interior views, projects, photos b/w
Notes: Mies chronology p. 102-103, bibliography 104-105, summary in French, German, Italian, Spanish

Mies van der Rohe, Ludwig
Mies van der Rohe. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1970. 134 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, photos color, plans, elevations, sections, interior views, exterior views, details.
Notes: First published in Japan in 1969 by Bijutsu Shuppan-sha, Tokyo… New text has been provided for this English edition. Bibliography p. 131.

Mies van der Rohe: Su Arquitectura y Sus Discipulos. Madrid: Ministerio de Obras Publicas y Urbanismo, 1987. 187 p. ill.
Illustrations: Sketches, photos b/w, drawings, plans, sections, details, models, interior views, projects.
Notes: Spanish. Originally published in English under: "Mies reconsideration: his career, legacy and disciples.

Mies van der Rohe: Vorbild und Vermachtnis. Frankfurt: Deutsches Architekturmuseum, 1986. p.205. ill.
Illustrations: Portraits, projects, plans, sections, elevations, perspectives, sketches, interior views, exterior views, aerials, photos b/w, models.
Notes: German, Catalog p. 160-170.

Mills, Edward D.
The Modern Church. New York: Frederick A. Praeger, 1956. 189 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, interior views, exterior views, sketches, details, elevations, sections, colored glass window pictures.

Moholy-Nagy, L.
Vision in motion. Chicago: Paul Theobald, 1947. 371 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, drawings, models, photomontages, collages
Notes: index p. 363

Moholy-Nagy, L.
Vision in motion. Chicago: Paul Theobald, 1969. 371 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, drawings, models, photomontages, collages
Notes: index p. 363. Reprint

The Museum of Modern Art.
Mies in Berlin. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 2001. 11 p. :ill.
Illustrations: maps, photos b/w, drawings, projects, interior views, exterior views
Notes: Brochure of the exhibition: Mies in Berlin. New York: MOMA, 2001

Naar, Jon; Vignelli, Massimo.
Mies van der Rohe collection. New York: Knoll International, 1970. 12 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photo color.
Notes: collection, chronology.

Neumeyer, Fritz.
Mies van der Rohe la palabra sin artificio: reflexiones sobre architectura. Madrid: El Croquis, 1995. 524 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, interior views, exterior views, sketches, details, elevations, sections, colored glass window pictures
Notes: bibliographical references

Neumayer, Fritz.
Mies van der Rohe reflexions sur l'art de batir. Paris: Le Moniteur, 1996. 365 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Plans, details, drawings, portraits, photos b/w, exterior views, interior views.
Notes: Translation of: Mies van der Rohe, das kunstlose Wort, Gedanken zur Baukunst. Bibliography and index names p. 342-348. Lectures and writings by Mies.

Neumeyer, Fritz
The Artless Word. Mies van der Rohe on the building art. Cambridge, Massachussets: MIT, 1991. 386 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Drawings, photos b/w, plans, sites, portraits, exterior views, projects, details, sections
Notes: Originally published in German. Bibliographical reference p. 342 and index. Appendix with Manifestos, Texts and Lectures p. 239

The Office of Mies van der Rohe. [Chicago: The Office of Mies van der Rohe, Architects and Planners, [1970?]. [35] p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, exterior views, perspectives, maps, aerials, models, interior views, portraits.
Notes: List of buildings p. [28], portraits of Mies Partners and Associates

Page, Marian
Furniture designed by architects. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1980. 224 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, plates, interior views, drawings, details, sketches.
Notes: index p.222, bibliographical references p. 218, photographic credits p. 221

Pawley, Martin
Mies van der Rohe. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1970. 134p. ill,
Illustrations: Plans, details, photos b/w, photos color, exterior views, interior views.
Notes: notes on the plates p. 121-128, chronological list: projects and events p. 129-130, selected bibliography p. 131-132, index p. 133-134.

Pawley, Martin; Futagawa, Yukio.
Mies van der Rohe . New York: Simon and Schuster, 1968

Peter, John
The Oral History of Modern Architecture: Interviews with the greatest Architects of the Twentieth Century. New York: Harry N. Abrams, Incorporated, 1994. 320 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, Plans, aerial views, exterior views, interior views, projects.
Notes: Compact disc enclosed. Bibliographies p. 292-305, time chart p. 306-307, visitor's guide, index p.315.

Pommer, Richard; Spaeth, David; Hrington, Kevin
In the shadow of Mies. Ludwig Hilberseimer architect, educator, and urban planner. Chicago: The Art Institute of Chicago, 1988. 144 p. :ill.
Illustrations: drawings, plans, photos, perspectives, city plans
Notes: Index, bibliographical references

Presitz, Alexandre; Valeix, Danielle.
L'oeuvre de Mies van der Rohe. Boulogne: L'Architecture d'aujord'hui, 1958. 103 p.:ill.
Illustrations: Portraits, drawings, plans, exterior views, exterior views, aerials, sketches, details
Notes: French

Quetglas, Josep.
Fear of glass: Mies van der Rohe's Pavillion in Barcelona. Basel; Boston; Berlin: Birkhauser, 2001. 191 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Portraits, exterior views, interior views, perspectives, plans, projects, photos b/w, drawings, sketches, section, site plan, aerials, collages

Romer, Denis; Center of American Places
Alfred Cladwell: the life and work of a Prairie School landscape architect. Baltimore; London: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997. 307 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Site plans, drawings, section, portraits, photos b/w, projects, exterior views
Notes: Chronology p. XIX. Index p. 303. Bibliographical references p.297. Notes p. 281.

Safran, E. Yehuda; Trigueiroz, Luiz; Martins, Paulo
Mies van der Rohe. Lisboa: Blau, 2000. 214 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos color, photos b/w, exterior views, interior views, perspectives plans, drawings
Notes: Buildings list, Mies biography

Schink, Arnold
Mies van der Rohe: Beitrage zur asthetischen Entwicklung der. Stuttgart: K. Kramer, 1990. 379 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, sketches, models, projects, furniture, exterior views, interior views, aerial views, perspectives, elevations, drawings.
Notes: German. Bibliographical references p. 351-370

Schulze, Franz
Mies van der Rohe: a Critical Biography. Chicago: The University of Chicago, 1985. 355 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, sketches, portraits, projects, exterior views, interior views, perspectives, elevation
Notes: notes p. 327-344, selected Bibliography p. 345-348, index p. 349-355.

Schulze, Franz
Mies van der Rohe: Interior Spaces. Chicago: The Art Club of Chicago, 1982. 44 p. :ill.
Illustrations: plans, sketches, portraits, photos b/w, projects, exterior views, interior views.
Notes: Catalog of the Exhibition p. 42-44.

Schulze, Franz
The Farnsworth House. (Chicago): Lohan Associates, 1997. 32 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, photos color, plans, elevations, sections, details, sketches, exterior views, interior views.
Notes: Chronology p. 30

Schulze, Franz; Stoller, Erza
The Seagram Building. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1999. 99p.: ill.
Illustrations: plans, interior views, exterior views, photos b/w
Notes: Artistic photos, bibliographical references

Schwarz, Rudolf
The Church Incarnate: The Sacred Function of Christian Architecture. Chicago: Henry Regnery Company, 1963. 231 p. ill.
Illustrations: Figures, diagrams.
Notes: Originally in German. Translated by Harris, Cynthia. Forward by Mies van der Rohe. Second American print.

Scully, Vincent Jr.
Modern Architecture: The Architecture of Democracy. Revised edition. New York: George Braziller, Inc., 1974. 158 p. ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, plans, sections, interior views, exterior views,
Notes: bibliographical notes p.135, notes p. 137-149, index 150-167, sources of illustrations p.157-158.

Sharpe, David C.
Myron Goldsmith. Chicago: Illinois Institute of Technology, 1996.

Scink, Arnold
Mies van der Rohe: Beitrage zur asthetischen Entwicklung der. Stuttgart: K. Kramer, 1990 379 p. :ill.
Notes: Bibliographical references p. 351

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill - Architects - Engineers
Illinois Institute of Technology, Crown Hall Renovation, Feasibility Study. Chicago, 1974. 89 p: ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, sections, details, drawings, tables.
Notes: Index, Appendix.

Sola-Morales Rubio, Ignasi; Cirici, Cristian; Ramos Fernandez, Fernando
Mies van der Rohe: Barcelona Pavilion. Barcelona: G. Gili, c1993. 71 p: ill.
Illustrations: Photos color, art pictures, plans, sections, details, drawings, exterior views, interior views, elevations, furniture, aerials.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. 68-71).

Sosa Diaz-Saavedra, Jose A.
Contextualismo y abstraccion. Las Palmas de Gran Canarias: Instituto Canario de Administracion Publica, 1995. 212 p. :ill.
ISBN: 84-606-2613-X
Illustrations: Photos, models, plans, exterior views, photos b/w
Notes: Chapter "Segundo ejemplo: Mies en clave de paisaje" p. 115-128 Spanish

Spaeth, David A.; Denford, George
Mies van der Rohe: an annotated bibliography and chronology. New York; London: Garland Publishing, 1979. 280 p.

Spaeth, David
Mies van der Rohe. New York: Rizzoli, 1985. 205 p.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, elevations, sections, details, drawings, sketches, exterior views, interior views, furniture, aerials.
Notes: Select bibliography p. 200-201. Acknowledgements p. 201. Sources of Illustrations p. 202. Index p. 203-205.

Spaeth, David
Mies van der Rohe, Der Architekt der Technischen Perfektion. Stuttgart: Deutsche Verlags-Anstslt, 1985. 184 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photos b/w, plans, elevations, sections, details, drawings, sketches, exterior views, interior views, furniture, aerials.
Notes: Written in German, the original in English By the same author. Select bibliography. Index p. 181-182. Sources of Illustrations p. 183.

Speyer, A. James; Saliga, Pauline A
Oral history of A. James Speyer; compiled under the auspices of the Chicago. Architects Oral History Project, Department of Architecture, the Art Institute of Chicago. Chicago : The Institute, 1990. 135 leaves (photocopy)
Notes: Transcript of an interview. Includes index. Bibliography: leaves 128-130

Speyer, A. James
Other Authors: KOEPER, Frederick; Art Institute of Chicago.
Mies van der Rohe. [Chicago]: The Art Institute of Chicago, 1968. 120 p. : ill.
Illustrations: Plans, photos b/w, drawings, exterior views
Notes: A retrospective exhibition organized by The Art Institute of Chicago and the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in Fine Arts. Notes and Bibliography

Speyer, A.James
James Spayer: architect, curator, exhibition designer. Chicago: University Chicago Press, 1997. 124 p. :ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, photos color, Plans, interior views, exterior views, models, portraits
Notes: Published conjunction with the exhibition same name organized by Darthea Spayer and John Vinci at the Arts Club of Chicago. Bibliography. p 119, appendix p. 102

Swenson, Alfred; Chang Pao-Chi; Illinois Institute of Technology.
Architectural education at IIT, 1938-1978. Chicago, Ill. : Illinois Institute of Technology, c1980.
Notes: Faculty list, alumni list

Takamaya, Masami
Era of Highrise: Concept of Optimum Structure in Chicago. [Chicago]: Edition, Galerie Taisei, 1996. 47 p. ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, exterior views, diagrams, models, projects.

Technology Center today and tomorrow. Chicago: Illinois institute of Technology, 1947. 47 p. :ill.
Notes: photocopy

Tegethoff, Wolf
Mies van der Rohe: the Villas and Country Houses. New York: The Museum of Modern Art,
1985. 223 p. : ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, photos color, plans, elevations, interior views, exterior views, aerial views, drawings, perspectives, sketches, models, portraits
Notes: Originally in German. Translated by Russell M. Stockman; edited by William Dyckes. Bibliography p. 132

The Museum of Modern Art
Built in USA: Post-war Architecture. New York: Distributed by Simon & Schuster, 1952. 128 p. ill
Illustrations: photos b/w, photos color, plans, sections, facades, interior views, exterior views.
Notes: Edited by Henry-Russell Hitchcock and Arthur Drexler.

The Museum of Modern Art
Mies van der Rohe: Critical Essays. Cambridge: Distributed by The MIT Press, 1952. 128 p. ill
Illustrations: photos b/w, plans, sections, facades, interior views, exterior views.
Notes: Edited by Schulze, Franz. Trustees of The Museum of Modern Art p. 201, photograph credits p. 203, index p.205.

Tracey, Timothy; Schulze, Franz
Krueck Sexton: architects. New York: Moncelli Press, 1997. 190 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Interior views, photos color, plans, projects
Notes: bibliographical references

Vandenberg, Maritz
New National Gallery, Berlin: Mies van der Rohe. London: Phidon,1998. 60 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Details, facades, elevations, plans, exterior views, interior views, photos b/w and color.
Notes: Notes p.59, bibliography p. 60

Vazquez, Fernando; Trigueros, Luiz
Mies van der Rohe 1886-1969. Lisbon: Blau, 1999. 96 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Photos color, exterior views, interior views.
Notes: English, Portuguese. Chronology, bibliography.

Vitra Design Museum; VEGESACK, Alexander von; et. al.
Mies van der Rohe: architecture and design in Stuttgard, Barcelona, Brno. [Milan]; [Weil am Rhein]: Vitra Desig Museum; Skira, 1998. 217 p. : ill.
Illustrations: photos b/w, sketches, plans, interior views.
Notes: A Vitra Design Museum exhibition in collaboration with Fundacio Mies van der Rohe, Weissenhof-Institut at the Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Keste

Wachter, Gabriela.
Mies van der Rohe Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin=Mies van der Rohe's New Natonal Gallery in Berlin. Berlin: Vice Versa Verlag: 1995. 99 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Models, perspective, photos b/w, interior views, photomontage, collage, interior views, plans.
Notes: English German. Mies photos, footnotes p. 96, Bibliography, Biography, Chronology of exhibitions.

Weber, Hugo.
Hugo Weber Chicago-New York: Ein schweizer pioneer des amerikanischen abstrakten expressionismus. Art Focus: [s.l], 1996

Wolfe, Tom
From Bauhaus to our House. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, 1981. 143 p. ill.
Illustrations: Photo b/w, interior views, exterior views, model, facades.
Notes:

Zukowsky, John; Dal Co, Francesco
Mies reconsidered: his career, legacy, and disciples. Chicago: The Art Institute of Chicago; Rizzoli International, 1986. 172 p. :ill.
Illustrations: Portraits, projects, interior views, exterior views, aerials, photomontages, model, plans
Notes: Bibliographies p. 151-167. Appendix II: Stuttgart Competition. Catalog from the exhibition at The Art Institute of Chicago from Aug. 22 to Oct 5, 1986