## **Postal Regulatory Commission**

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov

Contact: Ann Fisher

Phone: 202-789-6800

Fax: 202-789-6886

Ann.Fisher@prc.gov

## **Press Release**

June 16, 2008

## Nanci Langley Sworn in as Commissioner

Washington, DC – Postal Regulatory Commission Chairman Dan G. Blair today swore-in Nanci Langley as a Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission, following her official appointment by President George W. Bush last week.

Commissioner Langley was nominated by President Bush on February 26, 2008, and confirmed by the U.S. Senate on June 4, 2008, for a term extending through November 22, 2012. For the past fifteen months, she has served as the Commission's first Director of the Office of Public Affairs and Government Relations. In addition to her tenure on the Postal Regulatory Commission, Langley served in the office of U.S. Senator Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI) for 17 years, nine of which were as his Deputy Staff Director on the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs' Subcommittee on Oversight of Government Management, the Federal Workforce and the District of Columbia. Senator Akaka served as the chairman and ranking member of the Senate Postal Subcommittee from 1999-2002, and was the acting ranking member during the Senate's postal reform hearings. For eight years, she was the communications director to the late U.S. Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (D-HI).

"Ensuring a fair balance between the flexibilities given to the Postal Service by the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act, with the accountability and transparency provided by the Postal Regulatory Commission will be my goal, as a Commissioner. I have tremendous respect for my fellow Commissioners, who carry out their duties with great responsibility and bipartisanship. I look forward to sitting with them," said Langley.

Commissioner Langley, who resides in Falls Church, Virginia, with her husband William Selander, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Southern California. She was raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where she graduated from Punahou School.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Blair, the other Commissioners are Ruth Goldway, Tony Hammond, Mark Acton, and Nanci Langley.