

Phnom Penh, April 24th, 2007

Official Results of the 2007 Commune Councils Election

On April 24th, 2007, the National Election Committee released the official results of the 2007 Commune Councils election nationwide.

H.E Tep Nytha, NEC Secretary General, stated that there are five political parties who won seats.

Those parties are:

- **Cambodian People's Party** : got 1,591 chiefs; 1,125 first deputy chiefs; 185 second deputy chiefs; and 5,092 Commune Council members. Total **7,993** elected.
- Sam Rainsy Party : got 28 chiefs; 403 first deputy chiefs; 963 second deputy chiefs; and 1,266 Commune council members. Total **2,660** elected.
- Funcinpec Party : got 2 chiefs; 47 first deputy chiefs; 155 second deputy chiefs; and
 70 Commune council members. Total 274 elected.
- Norodom Ranariddh Party : got 46 first deputy chiefs; 317 second deputy chiefs; and 62 Commune council members. Total **425** elected.
- Hang Dara Democratic Movement Party: got 1 second deputy chief.

His Excellency added that the official results were publicly posted at the 24 PECs and also at the 1,621 communes/sangkat.

Mr. Khan Keomono, deputy chief of training and public information department, emphasized that according to the 2007 Commune Councils Election calendar, the deadline for announcing the official results was on April 24th, 2007. The NEC stared releasing results since April 10th. He added that the NEC announced the results via radio, TV and NEC Website channels. CD rooms will be also distributed to stakeholders.

There is nationwide a total of 11,353 seats in the Communes/Sangkat Councils.



Phnom Penh, the 24th of April 2007

Hang Dara Democratic Norodom Ranariddh Party Sam Rainsy Party Funcinpec Party Cambodian People's Party Province Movement Party N٥ Municipality 1^{st} 2nd 1^{st} 2^{nd} 1^{st} 2^{nd} 2nd 1^{st} 2^{nd} 1^{st} Chief Chief Chief Members Chief Members Members Chief Members Members deputy Banteay Meanchey Battambang Kampong Cham Kampong Chhnang No seats Kampong Speu Kampong Thom Kampot Kandal Koh Kong Kratie Mondolkiri No seats Phnom Penh No seats Preah Vihear Prey Veng Pursat Ratanakiri No seats No seats Siem Reap Sihanouk Ville No seats Stung Treng Svay Rieng Takeo Kep No seats No seats Pailin No seats Oddar Meachey Sub-total Total 7.993 2.660

Number of Commune Councils' chiefs, first deputies, second deputies and members for each political party after the April 1st 2007 elections