FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 24, 2010

Contact: Harlow Robinson 907.240.3684

ALASKA SPORTS HALL OF FAME TO HONOR CLASS OF 2010 WITH INDUCTION CEREMONY

Thursday, February 25, 2010 6:00PM ConocoPhillips Atrium

ANCHORAGE – The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame will honor four people, one event and two moments that make up the Class of 2010. The public is welcome to attend the ceremony on February 25, 2010 from 6-8PM at the ConocoPhillips Atrium. The event is free but the doors will be closed upon the venue reaching seating capacity.

The ceremony will feature a presentation of video biographies, portrait unveilings and acknowledgements by the Class of 2010 inductees.

Inductees Rosey Fletcher, Reggie Joule and Lance Mackey will be in attendance to accept their induction trophies. Dick Mackey and Rick Swenson will also be in attendance to celebrate the historic 1978 Iditarod finish, which will be inducted as a moment. The families of Bradford Washburn and Elliott Sampson as well the organizers of the Midnight Sun Baseball team will also be present.

Class of 2010 Inductees will be available to conduct media interviews before the ceremony at 4:30pm at the ConocoPhillips Atrium.

Class of 2010 Inductees

Lance Mackey: Mackey is the only person to win the 1,100-mile Iditarod and 1,000-mile Yukon Quest races in the same year—and he's done it twice. Overall, he's won the Quest four times and the Iditarod three times. In 2001, Mackey was diagnosed with throat cancer. Yet he continued to do what he loves most, driving dogs. Today he is considered cancer free and one of the greatest mushers of all-time.

Reggie Joule: Joule is one the most celebrated figures in the history of the World Eskimo-Indian Olympics and Native Youth Olympics. Today he is a member of the Alaska House of Representatives. A multiple-time champion, Joule, of Kotzebue, also set records in the 1970s in graceful and grueling events such as the one-foot and two-foot high kick. He also won 10 gold medals in the blanket toss.

(more)

Rosey Fletcher: Fletcher became the first Alaskan to win an Olympic medal in snowboarding when she finished third in the women's parallel giant slalom at the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin, Italy. A three-time Olympian, Fletcher was born in Anchorage but grew up in Girdwood, falling in love with the slopes at Alyeska Resort. In addition to her Olympic bronze medal, she has won two silvers at the world championships. She also has eight World Cup wins, and 20 World Cup podiums.

Bradford Washburn: Washburn, who died at age 96 in 2007, was an accomplished mountaineer, photographer and mapmaker. As a climber, he was the first person to ascend many Alaska peaks, including Mount Crillon, Mount Sanford, Mount Hayes, Mount Dickey and the West Buttress route on Mount McKinley. He was probably best known for his work with making maps, most notably of Mount McKinley and Mount Everest. He also founded the modern Boston Museum of Science.

Moments: The two moments to be inducted are Noorvik's Elliott Sampson's upset victory in the 1981 Alaska high school cross-country running meet and the 1978 Iditared photo finish between Dick Mackey and Rick Swenson.

Event: The 100-year-old Midnight Sun Baseball Classic in Fairbanks will be the Hall's honored event.

The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization established March 17, 2004. The mission of the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame is to teach, to honor and to inspire. For additional information about the Hall, visit www.alaskasportshall.org or contact Harlow Robinson at 907.240.3684.