Home || FAQ's     || Site Map || Feedback || Contact Us  

Indian Fellows
Foreign Fellows
Foundation Fellows
Recent Elected Fellows
Nomination Form

Brief Citation in respect of Scientists elected as Foreign Fellows
(Effective from 1st January 2011)

Hacker, Jörg Hinrich (b. 1952), President, German Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina Reinhardtstraβe 14, 10117, Berlin.

For his outstanding contributions to genetic recombination in bacteria and discovery of pathogenicity islands for the first time in bacterial pathogens.

Leggett, Anthony James (b. 1938), Professor of Physics, John D and Catherine T MacArthur Professor of Physics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA.

For his pioneering contributions in the area of low temperature physics and his highly innovative theory for the superfluidity of 3He.

Ogawa, Seiji (b. 1934), Director, Ogawa Laboratories for Brain Functions Research, Humano Life Science Research Foundation, Tokyo, Japan.

For his invention of the technique known as fMRI which is one of the powerful methods to understand functional aspects of human brain.

Pisier, Gilles Jean Georges (b. 1950), Professeur, Classe Exceptionnelle (Distinguished Professor), Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris VI, France and Distinguished Professor at Texas A&M; University.

For his fundamental works at the confluence of three broad topics in Modern Analysis namely, Functional Analysis, Harmonic Analysis and Probability.

Polanyi, JC (b. 1928), University Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.

For his outstanding contribution in the field of molecular reaction dynamics, including transition state spectroscopy and surface aligned photochemistry.