NEWS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Susan Barnett 773-881-6558 sbarnett@mothermcauley.org

MCAULEY TEAMS RECEIVE HALL OF FAME HONORS

Two of McAuley's outstanding athletic moments are being recognized by the Girls Catholic Athletic Conference and the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association. On March 16, the GCAC will induct the record setting volleyball teams from 1980, 1981 and 1982 into their Hall of Fame. On April 26, McAuley's 1991 State Champion Basketball Team will be honored at the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame dinner.

For three consecutive years – 1980, 1981, 1982 – Mother McAuley's Volleyball team went undefeated. Led by Coach Mary Anne Malone, the team was ranked No. 1 in the nation and added State Titles number 2, 3 and 4 to McAuley's record. McAuley's Volleyball program still holds the record for most consecutive wins (135) thanks to the outstanding effort of these players. The three-peat volleyball team players were Midge Arundel Furlong '81, Carolyn Rodger Cosgrove '81, Carol Sniegowski '81, Patricia Boyle Sundermeier '81, Nancy Pfordresher '81, Deirdre Connolly-Leon '82, Sharon Kuchan Holohan '82, Colleen Aird '82, Therese Boyle-Niego '82, Anne Neylon Scahill '82, Sheila Gniadecki Panella '82, Jeanne Rowan-Hickey '83, Eva Murray McCalla '83, Andrea Delaney '83, Laurie Caraher-Zahrobsky '84, Kathleen Burns '84, Julie Ann Morrison Humphreys '84, Kathleen Vaitkus Lodico '84, Geri Eber Rydz '84, Sheila Nawrocki '84 and Margaret Cullen Drab '85.

The 1991 Basketball team won McAuley's only State Title and was ranked 3rd in the nation. During the title match, Megan Lucid (Brusek) made 10 consecutive free throws, a record only shared by two other players. Megan is the only McAuley basketball player to have her jersey retired and is in the Illinois Basketball Hall of Fame. The 1991 McAuley Basketball team was coached by Diane Darrah, assisted by managers Gail Arenberg '94 and Kimberly Jones '89. The players included Megan Lucid Brusek '91, Juliet Biros Jarmosco '91, Norine Nolan '91, Sarah Benner '91, Kati Whittingham '91, Patty Harvey Odlaug '92, Joanne McCarthy '92, Kathleen Thomas '92, Laura Frain '92, Erin Griffin '92, Amie Biros Vail '93, Ann Shankman McCabe '93, Susan Gallagher McKee '93, Jennifer Costello Fortner '94 and Amy McCarthy '94.

Anyone interested in attending either the GCAC Hall of Fame Dinner or the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Dinner should contact McAuley Athletic Director Laurie Jakubczak at 773-881-6550.



1980 McAuley Varsity Volleyball Team



1981 McAuley Varsity Volleyball Team



1982 McAuley Varsity Volleyball Team



1991 McAuley Varsity Basketball Team