188 Football 188 Football
Register Login Why Register? Forgotten Password


World War Two led indirectly to the creation of the Scottish League Cup.

Wartime restrictions caused the Scottish Cup to be suspended and in its place in 1940 sprang up the Southern League Cup, a regional competition which featured some but not all of the Scottish Football League clubs.

The first Scottish League Cup proper took place in the 1946-47 season and was won by Rangers, who defeated Aberdeen 4-0 at Hampden Park.

The competition was extremely popular with players and fans in its first 25 years, but its regional basis with a drawn-out group stage followed by quarter-finals saw its popularity decline in the 1970s and 1980s.

The competition was overhauled in the 1980s, adopting a shorter knockout format and the final was even brought forward to before Christmas.

It was moved back to spring at the turn of the Millennium to ease early-season fixture congestion following the expansion of the UEFA Cup.

While Rangers' 25 victories make them comfortably the most successful team in Scottish League Cup history, Celtic did win the famous three-handled trophy five times in a row between the 1965-66 and 1969-70 seasons.

It was part of an extraordinary sequence in which they reached the final in 14 consecutive seasons.

The Scottish League Cup has been decided by a penalty shoot-out on three occasions, including First Division Raith Rovers' shock 6-5 shoot-out victory over Celtic in the 1994-95 season following a 2-2 draw in the final.