NCR Links
[X-Plan Proposal]


The National Capital Region comprises an area of 33,578 square kilometers (includes the remaining five tehsils of Alwar), covering the states of Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

The area of the NCR is as follows:

NCT Delhi

1,482 square kilometers


Seven districts - Gurgaon, Rewari, Faridabad, Sonepat, Rohtak, Panipat and Jhajjhar, comprising 13,413 square kilometers

Uttar Pradesh

Four districts - Ghaziabad, Bulandshahr, Meerut and Baghpat, comprising 10,853 square kilometers


Alwar district, 7,829 square kilometers

Within these districts, the Board has identified several priority towns all over the region for its growth and balanced development. In addition, in order to arrest the migratory population to the region, counter-magnet areas have also been identified for accelerated growth.

Towns in the National Capital Region (as proposed in Regional Plan 2001)

State Delhi Metropolitan Area Priority town Sub-regional growth
Haryana Gurgaon, Faridabad, Kundli, Bahadurgarh Panipat, Rewari, Palwal, Dharuhera, Rohtak Sonepat, Bawal, Manesar
Uttar Pradesh Ghaziabad Hapur, Meerut, Bulandshahr, Khurja Greater NOIDA,Modinagar, Ganaur
Rajasthan --- Alwar, Bhiwadi ---

The counter magnet areas include Hissar in Haryana, Patiala in Punjab, Kota in Rajasthan, Bareilly in Uttar Pradesh and Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh.


[Home] [Contact Us]

The NCR-UP web-site contains information and material compiled for reference only. Information on this web site is provided solely for the user’s information and, while due care has been taken to make it accurate, it is provided without guarantee/ warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The NIC/ Authority and its employees will not be liable for any legal action/ damages, direct or indirect, arising from the use of this web-site. NCR-UP reserves the right to make changes in this material at any time without notice.Errors and ommissions are excepted (E. & O.E).

Copyright NCR-UP.
Site Designed and Maintained By National Informatics Centre, State Unit Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
This site can be best viewed in IE5.0+ with a screen resolution 800x600 pixels