

## N=E=W=S==R=E=L=E=A=S=E=

MONTREAL, CANADA

## ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR ICAO COUNCIL

MONTREAL, September, 1971 - The Council of the International Civil Aviation Organization has elected its officers for the annual period 1971-1972. Those elected were as follows: First Vice-President, Dr. A. Cucci of Italy; Second Vice President, Y. R. Malhotra of India; Third Vice President, H. K. El Meleigy of the Arab Republic of Egypt. President of the Council since 1957 is Walter Binaghi, a national of Argentina.

Other elections announced were the chairmen of special groups within ICAO. Chairman of the Air Transport Committee, Y. Diallo of Senegal; Chairman of the Committee on Joint Support of Air Navigation Services, Dr. K. N. E. Bradfield of Australia; Chairman of the Finance Committee, Com. R. Temporini, of Argentina; Chairman of the Working Group on ICAO Conditions of Service, Karno Barkah of Indonesia.

The ICAO Council is composed of 27 national representatives which direct the activities of the Organization from its headquarters in Montreal. The International Civil Aviation Organization has a membership of 121 nations which cooperate to assure the continuing safety and progressive development of the world's civil air transportation.

- END -

