

# LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

2008-2009-2010-2011

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

No. 105

### **MONDAY, 16 MAY 2011**

1 The Assembly met at 10 a.m., in accordance with the notice fixed by the Speaker (Mr Rattenbury), pursuant to paragraph 40(2)(b) of the *Australian Capital Territory* (Self-Government) Act 1988 (Cwlth).

The Speaker took the Chair and made a formal recognition that the Assembly was meeting on the lands of the traditional custodians. The Speaker asked Members to stand in silence and pray or reflect on their responsibilities to the people of the Australian Capital Territory.

#### 2 RESIGNATION OF CHIEF MINISTER—PAPERS

The Speaker announced that, in accordance with section 45 of the *Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988* (Cwlth), he had received written notice from Mr Stanhope in which he tendered his resignation as Chief Minister.

The Speaker presented the following papers:

Resignation of Chief Minister—Written notice from Mr Stanhope, dated 12 May 2011.

Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988 (Cwlth), pursuant to paragraph 40(2)(b)—Notice convening a meeting of the Seventh Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory at 10 a.m. on Monday, 16 May 2011, dated 12 May 2011 (Special Gazette S1, 13 May 2011).

# 3 ELECTION OF CHIEF MINISTER

Mr Stanhope proposed Ms Gallagher to the Assembly as Chief Minister, and moved— That Ms Gallagher be elected Chief Minister for the Territory.

Ms Gallagher informed the Assembly that she accepted the nomination.

Mr Smyth proposed Mr Seselja (Leader of the Opposition) to the Assembly as Chief Minister, and moved—That Mr Seselja be elected Chief Minister for the Territory.

Mr Seselja informed the Assembly that he accepted the nomination.

There being no further proposal, the time for proposals expired.

Debate ensued.

The Assembly proceeded to ballot; and the ballot being concluded, the Speaker reported the result, as follows:

Ms Gallagher—11 votes

Mr Seselja—6 votes

Ms Gallagher was declared elected as Chief Minister.

Ms Gallagher (Chief Minister), by leave, made a statement concerning her election as Chief Minister.

Mr Seselja, by leave, also made a statement.

Ms Hunter, by leave, also made a statement.

# 4 ADJOURNMENT

Ms Gallagher (Chief Minister) moved—That the Assembly do now adjourn.

Question—put and passed.

And then the Assembly, at 10.19 a.m., adjourned until Tuesday, 21 June 2011 at 10 a.m.

**MEMBERS' ATTENDANCE:** All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

**Tom Duncan**Clerk of the Legislative Assembly