RSS Contact Us

India vs Syria Nehru Cup 2009 Football Final Results, Highlights

Submitted by Nuklear on 08/27/2009 – 12:26 PMNo Comment

India Syria reach the final in the Nehru Cup Football 2009

Nehru Cup 2009 Football

India vs Syria in Nehru Cup Football Finals on Sunday August 29 2009

India WINS Nehru Cup 2009, beats Syria 5-4 in Finals

Syria 1-1, 4-5 India [on penalties]

The ONGC Nehru Cup or the Nehru Cup International Football Tournament has some surprise for us.

This year it is the 14th edition of the tournament, and the matches were played in the round-robin format. The final match is scheduled to be played on August 31st 2009 at the Ambedkar Stadium.

The surprise is that India has defeated Sri Lanka with a splendid score of 3-1, and with this victory they have cemented their position in the final. Their ground passes were good and they looked pretty decent against the Lankans.

The Syrian coach Fajer Ibrahim expressed happiness with his team’s performance and considering the fact that Syrian players are fasting due to Ramadan, he felt they were doing awesome and a draw against Lebanon would have been enough for them to take to the final, but Syria defeated Lebanon with a score of 1-0 and is headed to play the final match against India.

Syria has highest rank in the five-nation tournament and India will surely be facing the tough opponents in the finals.

Syria has scored nine points with three victories in the tournament. But India’s coach Bob Houghton warns his team in spite of reaching the finals and says that they need to still play their best soccer to see they win against Syria as even goalkeeper Subrata Paul remarked that the Indians deserved to be in the final match.

India has emerged as a strong contender to win the Nehru but Syria surely has an upper hand and start as pre-match favorites.

India (from): Subrata Paul, Subhashish Roy Chowdhury, Ali Anwar, Deepak Mondal, Bhaichung Bhutia (C), Mahesh Gawli, Surkumar Singh, Gouramangi Singh, Samir Naik, Mehrajuddin Wadoo, N P Pradeep, Renedy Singh, Syed Rahim Nabi, Steven Dias, Anthony Pereira, Climax Lawrence, Sunil Chhetri, Sushil Kumar Singh, Abhishek Yadav.

Syria (from): Mosab Balhous, Moustafa Shakosh, Hamzeh Al Aitoni, Ali Dyab, Mohamed Al Zeno, Belal Abdul Daim, Abdul Razak Al Hussain, Abdul Fatah Alaga, Alaa Alshbli, Feras Ismail, Raja Rafe, Kawa Hisso, Moutaz Kaildni, Jwan Hisso, Ahmad Haj Mohamad, Bakri Tarrab.

India vs Syria Nehru Cup Football Final Results -- August 32 2009

Follow the India vs Syria Live Score Nehru Cup Football 2009 Updates below;

30 minutes got added as EXTRA TIME in the final of the ONGC Nehru Cup 2009 -- India vs Syria Football Match.

Syria 1 -- 1 India

Penalties (4 -- 5)

Rafe ScoredLawrence Scored
Ayan Missed (hit the bar)P.R. Singh
Missed (hit the bar)
Haj Mohamad Missed (hit the bar)Chhetri
Balhous ScoredDias
Al Agha Scored
Al Hussain ScoredA. Ali
Al Aitoni Missed (hit the bar)S. Singh Scored

India vs Syria Nehru Cup 2009 Football Highlights

ONGC Nehru cup 2009 Promotional video

A. Ali

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.