

The 2008 Louis-Jeantet Prize-Winners

25TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL PRIZE

Since 25 years the Louis-Jeantet Foundation has promoted biomedical research in Europe. To mark this anniversary, the Foundation wishes to honour a scientist who, thanks to his work and commitment, has made a significant contribution to the development of European biomedical research, and promoted its role and standing vs. competition on the international research stage.

The prize-winner



Professor **Fotis C. Kafatos** is a brilliant biologist and humanist, and is known worldwide in the field of molecular biology. For 15 years he directed the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), before being called upon by his peers to assume the presidency of the European Research Council (ERC). Launched officially in 2007 on the initiative of the research community, the ERC provides Europe with an independent organ for coordinating and financing fundamental research. The Louis-Jeantet Foundation owes it to Professor Fotis C. Kafatos that it has been able to develop its activities in Europe at all stages in researchers' careers. For 10 years and in partnership with the EMBL, the Foundation thus awarded doctoral fellowships to young researchers from Eastern European countries that are members of the European Council. From 2011 the Foundation will grant the Louis-Jeantet Young Investigator Career Award, thus contributing to the ERC programme to attract to Europe or to retain here the best young talents in biomedical research from around the world.

2008 LOUIS-JEANTET PRIZE FOR MEDICINE

The Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine promotes scientific excellence. Since 1986, this prize is awarded each year to experienced researchers, working in Europe, for the continuation of innovative research offering high added value, and capable of being used more or less immediately for the treatment of disease. So far, grants amounting to CHF 46m have been awarded to 66 prize-winners.



The prize-winners

Professor at the Pasteur Institute of Paris, where she heads the Inserm/INRA 'Bacteria-Cell Interactions' Unit and directs the Department of Cell Biology and Infection, **Pascale Cossart** is the fifth woman scientist to be honoured by the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine.

She achieves distinction for her pioneering fundamental research work on *Listeria monocytogenes*, a bacterium that causes listeriosis, a serious foodborne infection. Her research has led to new concepts both in infection biology and in cell biology, paving the way to the development of new therapeutic tools for the treatment of infectious illnesses.

She will use the prize money to continue studies on *Listeria* and to analyse several aspects of the infectious process that are still unexplored, in order to hopefully discover unsuspected strategies used by this bacterium and other pathogens.



Professor and co-director of the Department for Biochemistry at the University of Lausanne, **Jürg Tschopp** is the first researcher at this university to receive the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine. He achieves distinction for his pioneering work in the fields of programmed cell death (apoptosis) and of inflammation. His work has led to the development of new anti-cancer therapies, some of which are undergoing clinical trials, as well as a new medicine that treats gout effectively.

He will use the prize money to continue his research on the Fas and the inflammasome protein assemblies, hopefully leading to treatments for other disorders, and notably for neurodegenerative diseases.