

Research Chairs, 2010–2011

In 2010–2011, more than 50 faculty members held the title of Chair. The list below reflects four types of Chairs:

Canada Research Chair (CRC)

Established by the Government of Canada to attract and retain some of the world's most outstanding researchers in Canadian degree-granting institutions. The program invests a total of \$300 million per year across the country. There are two types of CRCs: 1) **Tier 1** — a renewable title that is held for seven years; and 2) **Tier 2** — a junior chair that is held for five years and is eligible for renewal only once. The University receives \$200,000 annually per Tier 1 Chair and \$100,000 annually per Tier 2 Chair.

Endowed Research Chair

Created with the generous support of donations and indicates a broad and continuing commitment to the position and discipline of research. Each faculty member who holds a Chair position is considered to be of great distinction and typically at the rank of professor with tenure. Each Chair position is held for a fixed term.

Industrial Research Chair

Jointly funded by NSERC and industry to help universities build on existing strengths or develop major research capacity in areas of interest to industry.

U of T Distinguished Professor

Designed to advance and recognize faculty with highly distinguished accomplishments who display promise. This Chair is limited to no more than 3% of tenured professors within a Faculty.

litle	Chairholder	Sponsor	Tier	Dep't
Alumni Chair in Bioengineering	Cristina Amon	Endowed		MIE
Bahen/Tanenbaum Chair in Civil Engineering	Jeffrey Packer	Endowed		CivE
Bahen/Tanenbaum Chair in Civil Engineering	Michael Collins	Endowed		CivE
Bell Canada Chair in Multimedia	Dimitrios Hatzinakos	Endowed		ECE
Bell University Laboratories Chair in Computer Engineering	Baochun Li	Endowed		ECE
Bell University Laboratories Chair in Software Engineering	Hans-Arno Jacobsen	Endowed		ECE
Canada Research Chair in Autonomic Service Architecture	Alberto Leon-Garcia	NSERC	Tier 1	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Autonomous Space Robotics	Tim Barfoot	NSERC	Tier 2	UTIAS
Canada Research Chair of Biotechnology	Warren Chan	NSERC	Tier 2	IBBME
Canada Research Chair in Communication Algorithms	Frank Kschischang	NSERC	Tier 1	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Computational Aerodynamics and Environmentally Friendly Aircraft Design	David Zingg	NSERC	Tier 1	UTIAS
Canada Research Chair in Computational Nodeling and Design Under Uncertainty	Prasanth Nair	NSERC	Tier 2	UTIAS
Canada Research Chair in Diffusion-Wave Sciences and Technologies	Andreas Mandelis	NSERC	Tier 1	MIE
Canada Research Chair in Digital Communications	Wei Yu	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Fuel Cell Materials and Manufacturing	Olivera Kesler	NSERC	Tier 2	MIE
Canada Research Chair in Information Processing and Machine Learning	Brendan Frey	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Internet Video, Audio and Image Search	Parham Aarabi	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Mechanobiology	Craig Simmons	CIHR	Tier 2	MIE
Canada Research Chair in Micro and Nano Engineering Systems	Yu Sun	NSERC	Tier 2	MIE

Title	Chairholder	Sponsor	Tier	Dep't
Canada Research Chair in Microcellular Plastics	Chul Park	NSERC	Tier 1	MIE
Canada Research Chair in Nano- and Micro-Structured	George Eleftheriades	NSERC	Tier 1	ECE
Electromagnetic Materials and Applications	George Liermenades	NOLAU		LUE
Canada Research Chair in Nanotechnology	Ted Sargent	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Organic Optoelectronics	Zheng-Hong Lu	NSERC	Tier 1	MSE
Canada Research Chair in Photonic Technologies and Applications	Li Qian	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Quantum Information	Hoi-Kwong Lo	NSERC	Tier 2	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Signal Processing Systems	Glenn Gulak	NSERC	Tier 1	ECE
Canada Research Chair in Smart and Functional Polymers	Hani Naguib	NSERC	Tier 2	MIE
Canada Research Chair in Stem Cell Bioengineering	Peter Zandstra	NSERC	Tier 1	IBBME
Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering	Molly Shoichet	NSERC	Tier 1	ChemE
Celestica Chair in Materials for Microelectronics	Doug Perovic	Endowed		MSE
Chair in Computer Networks and Enterprise Innovation	Elvino Sousa	Endowed		ECE
Chair in Information Engineering (retired)	Joseph Paradi	Endowed		ChemE
Chair in Software Engineering	Tarek Abdelrahman	Endowed		ECE
Clarice Chalmers Chair of Engineering Design	William Cleghorn	Endowed		MIE
Claudette MacKay-Lassonde Chair in Mineral Engineering	John Hadjigeorgiou	Endowed		CivE
Dusan and Anne Miklas Chair in Engineering Design	Paul Chow	Endowed		ECE
Edward S. Rogers Sr. Chair in Engineering	Glenn Gulak	Endowed		ECE
Eugene V. Polistuk Chair in Electromagnetic Design	Costas Sarris	Endowed		ECE
Frank Dottori Chair in Pulp and Paper Engineering	Honghi Tran	Endowed		ChemE
Gerald R. Heffernan Chair in Materials Processing	Torstein Utigard	Endowed		MSE
J. Armand Bombardier Foundation Chair in Aerospace Flight	David Zingg	Endowed		UTIAS
L. Lau Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering	Reza Iravani	Endowed		ECE
Michael E. Charles Chair in Chemical Engineering	Michael Sefton	Endowed		ChemE
Nortel Institute Chair in Emerging Technology	J. Stewart Aitchison	Endowed		ECE
Nortel Institute Chair in Network Architecture and Services	Jörg Liebeherr	Endowed		ECE
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Design Engineering for the Urban Environment	Paul Gauvreau	NSERC		CivE
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Drinking Water Research	Robert Andrews	NSERC		CivE
NSERC/Cement Association of Canada Industrial Research Chair in Concrete Durability and Sustainability	Doug Hooton	NSERC		CivE
NSERC/UNENE Industrial Research Chair in Corrosion Control and Materials Performance in Nuclear Power Systems	Roger Newman	NSERC/ UNENE		ChemE
Pierre Lassonde Chair in Mining Engineering	William Bawden	Endowed		CivE
Stanley Ho Professorship in Microelectronics	Sorin Voinigescu	Endowed		ECE
The Stanley L. Meek Chair in Advanced Nanotechnology	Harry Ruda	Endowed		MSE
Velma M. Rogers Graham Chair in Engineering	George Eleftheriades	Endowed		ECE
Wallace G. Chalmers Chair of Engineering Design	Lily Shu	Endowed		MIE
W. M. Keck Chair of Seismology and Rock Mechanics	John Harrison	Endowed		CivE