Research Collections

Research Collections

The University Library is developing Research Collections in areas of current research and curriculum studies within the University of Worcester, UK. The Collections include historical children’s literature with an emphasis on adventure stories, contemporary multicultural children's literature, personal writing about childhood experience, and the Archive of the Kays mail order company which was based in Worcester, UK between 1890 and 2007.

In addition the Collections include a small number of nineteenth and early twentieth-century items in German.

Location of the Research Collections:

Bredon 27 and 29, Univerity of Worcester, Henwick Grove, Worcester, WR2 6AJ, UK

Access and use:

Please contact the Research Librarian to arrange an appointment

Dr Rachel Johnson MA MCLIP email  Telephone 01905 542093

For information on individual collections click on the links below.

The Brown Collection - works by and about G. A. Henty (1832-1902), a prolific writer of historical adventure stories for boys.

The Elkin Collection -  multicultural children’s literature. The content includes the Archive of Professor Judith Elkin.

The Hawkes Collection - books of instruction and of adventure focusing on Africa, published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

The Kays Archive - catalogues, ledgers, meeting minutes and artefacts from the Kays mail order company.

The Manley Collection - fiction for African children written post-independence.

The Ronchetti Collection - a collection of historical children's literature and photographic representations of childhood and dolls.

The Selby Collection - German literature including prose, poetry and translation published between 1821 and 1934.

The Severn Collection - the output of David Severn (David Storr Unwin), a popular children's author in the 1940s and 1950s.

The Westerman Collection - six unpublished manuscripts by Percy F. Westerman, seven Westerman scrapbooks and representative  titles of Westerman adventure stories published between 1920 and 1950.

The Williams Collection - autobiographical accounts of childhoods published between 1924 and 2000.

The Worcestershire Archaeological Society Collection

Wynne Collection - Adventure stories written for boys, some based on historical events.

Alphabet and Counting Books  - examples of alphabet books from 1836 - 2000.

John Marks Collection  - A unique collection of Literary Postcards.