World Champions Dinner

The ITF World Champions Dinner is an annual event that takes place in Paris during the Roland Garros fortnight. In 2012, it is being held at the Pavillon d'Armenonville on 5 June.

The celebration brings together over 400 members of the tennis family to honour the ITF World Champions, who are recognised for their outstanding performance from the previous year.

Serbia's Novak Djokovic and Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova have scooped the top men's and women's singles awards after their performances during the 2011 season, while the best doubles teams, juniors and wheelchair players will also be commended.

Philippe Chatrier Award

The Philippe Chatrier Award is named after the late former French player, who dedicated his life to tennis. After his playing career ended, he went on to become a journalist and then the President of both the International Tennis Federation and French Tennis Federation. He also served as France's Davis Cup captain.

The Philippe Chatrier Award is presented to someone who has given long and outstanding service to the game. Stefan Edberg was the first person to be honoured in 1996 and there have now been a total of 16 recipients. That list includes technology giants NEC in 2001, the year that marked the company's 20 year sponsorship of Davis Cup.

Guy Forget is the latest person to be recognised. The former world No. 4 helped France lift the Davis Cup trophy twice as a player, before repeating this success as the team's captain in 2001. He went on to achieve the rare feat of also leading the French Fed Cup team to victory in 2003.

The next Philippe Chatrier Award winner will be announced at the ITF World Champions Dinner, being held in Paris on 5 June 2012.

Honour roll

- 2011: Guy Forget (FRA)
- 2010: Gustavo Kuerten (BRA)
- 2009: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 2008: Neale Fraser (AUS)
- 2007: John McEnroe (USA)
- 2006: Margaret Court (AUS)
- 2005: Tony Trabert (USA)
- 2004: Yannick Noah (FRA)
- 2003: Billie Jean King (USA)
- 2002: Jack Kramer (USA)
- 2001: NEC
- 2000: Juan Antonio Samaranch (ESP)
- 1999: Nicola Pietrangeli (ITA)
- 1998: Rod Laver (AUS)
- 1997: Chris Evert (USA)
- 1996: Stefan Edberg (SWE)


  • Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) and Rafael Nadal (ESP) Esther Vergeer (NED)
  • ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti (ITA) and Shingo Kunieda (JPN) Daria Gavrilova (RUS) and Juan Sebastian Gomez (COL)
  • Gisela Dulko (ARG) and Flavia Pennetta (ITA) Mike and Bob Bryan (USA)
  • Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) and Rafael Nadal (ESP) FFT President Jean Gachassin (FRA), Guy Forget (FRA) and ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti (ITA)
  • Guy Forget (FRA) Guy Forget (FRA)
  • 2010 ITF World Champions