

CTV'S CRAIG OLIVER RECEIVES 2001 GOLD RIBBON AWARD FOR BROADCAST EXCELLENCE

Ottawa, October 1, 2001 – "Me? I'm just the son of a taxi driver from Prince Rupert." This response from one of Canada's most familiar faces on television upon learning he is the recipient of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) 2001 Gold Ribbon for Broadcast Excellence would come as no surprise for generations of Canadians.

Dedicated, tireless, hard-working, respected – a consummate professional from small-town Canada. For more than 4 decades, that is the Craig Oliver viewers across the country who follow "the intricacies of Canada's political theatre" have come to know. Mr. Oliver, the CTV Ottawa Bureau Chief and co-host of Canada's landmark national affairs program, *Question Period*, will accept the award at the Gold Ribbon Gala on October 30 in Ottawa at the CAB's Annual Convention, *Broadcasting 2001: Connecting Canadians...Community...Country*.

Craig Oliver is CTV's top political journalist and analyst, well known for his unique style of questioning and scrutiny. His career has taken him across Canada and around the world. He first worked with the CBC, as the national correspondent for the Prairies and later as executive producer of regional news in Ontario. In 1972, he joined CTV, where he's "done it all" – serving as the network's director of news and current affairs, producer of the inaugural episodes of Canada AM, and as political correspondent in Washington.

Mr. Oliver has received a number of industry awards and accolades over the years, including two Gemini awards in 1994 – one for Best Reportage, the second, the Gordon Sinclair Award, for Best Overall Broadcast Journalism. In 1995, he was inducted into the CAB Hall of Fame, and also received the Radio and Television News Directors Association President's Award for excellence in Canadian broadcast journalism. Mr. Oliver received the Charles Lynch Award in 2000, which recognized his lifetime of work and contributions.

The Gold Ribbon Award for Broadcast Excellence is the Canadian private broadcasting industry's most prestigious award. It honours the "truly outstanding service to Canadian private broadcasting," and recognizes "exceptional human qualities and practical, innovative achievements that reflect a genuine concern for the highest broadcasting standards." Past recipients include: JR Shaw; Normand Beauchamp and Paul-Émile Beaulne (joint recipients);





Moses Znaimer; Philippe de Gaspé Beaubien; Lloyd Robertson; Ted Rogers; Allan Waters; I. H. Asper; Elmer Hildebrand; Dr. Charles Allard; Henri Audet; Phyllis Switzer; Donald Brinton; Murray Chercover; Bill Hawkins; James Sward; Fred Sherratt; John Ansell; and Gary Hanney.

With over 600 members, the CAB is the voice of Canada's private broadcasters, representing a \$4 billion industry that employs more than 30,000 Canadians.

- 30 -

For information contact Kelly Beaton at (613) 233-4035 ext. 351 (<u>kbeaton@cab-acr.ca</u>), or Stephanie Szick, ext. 331 (<u>sszick@cab-acr.ca</u>).