Chris Evert was the first ever women's ITF World Champion in 1978 and went on to be honoured three times in total. Martina Navratilova and Steffi Graf have also been prolific recipients, receiving the accolade six and seven times respectively. More recently, Serena Williams and Justine Henin have both won on multiple occasions.

Women's singles

Petra Kvitova is the first Czech player to become a singles World Champion since Ivan Lendl was honoured for the fourth time in 1990. She edged out last year’s champion Caroline Wozniacki thanks in part to her first Grand Slam triumph at Wimbledon where she became the first player born in the 1990s to win a Grand Slam title.

The year ended on a high leading Czech Republic to victory over Russia in the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Final, a competition in which she won all six of her singles matches through the three rounds of competition in 2011.

The left-hander won a total of six titles during the year, including the year-end WTA Championships, helping her to rise from world No. 34 to a career high of world No. 2 at the conclusion of the season, finishing just behind Wozniacki.

Kvitova will receive her 2011 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner, being held in Paris on 5 June 2012.

Honour roll

- 2011: Petra Kvitova (CZE)
- 2010: Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
- 2009: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2008: Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
- 2007: Justine Henin (BEL)
- 2006: Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
- 2005: Kim Clijsters (BEL)
- 2004: Anastasia Myskina (RUS)
- 2003: Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
- 2002: Serena Williams (USA)
- 2001: Jennifer Capriarti (USA)
- 2000: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1999: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1998: Lindsay Davenport (USA)
- 1997: Martina Hingis (SUI)
- 1996: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1995: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1994: Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario (ESP)
- 1993: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1992: Monica Seles (YUG)
- 1991: Monica Seles (YUG)
- 1990: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1989: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1988: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1987: Steffi Graf (GER)
- 1986: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1985: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1984: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1983: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1982: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1981: Chris Evert Lloyd (USA)
- 1980: Chris Evert (USA)
- 1979: Martina Navratilova (USA)
- 1978: Chris Evert (USA)

Women's doubles

Kveta Peschke and Katarina Srebotnik have been named the women’s doubles World Champions for the first time, with Srebotnik the first Slovenian world champion in any category. The duo won a tour-high six doubles titles during the year, including their first Grand Slam success at Wimbledon, and ended the year as the No. 1-ranked team.

Peschke also won the decisive doubles point in Czech Republic’s Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Final victory before announcing her retirement from the competition. When the pair rose to share the world No. 1 ranking after Wimbledon, Peschke further became the oldest woman to ever hold the ranking in either singles or doubles.

Srebotnik finished in the doubles Top 10 for the fifth time and also had joy in the mixed doubles partnering Daniel Nestor to take the Grand Slam title at the Australian Open.

Peschke and Srebotnik will receive their 2011 award at the ITF World Champions Dinner, being held in Paris on 5 June 2012.

Honour roll

- 2011: Kveta Peschke (CZE) / Katarina Srebotnik (SLO)
- 2010: Gisela Dulko (ARG) / Flavia Pennetta (ITA)
- 2009: Serena Williams (USA) / Venus Williams (USA)
- 2008: Cara Black (ZIM) / Liezel Huber (USA)
- 2007: Cara Black (ZIM) / Liezel Huber (USA)
- 2006: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Samantha Stosur (AUS)
- 2005: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Samantha Stosur (AUS)
- 2004: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2003: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2002: Virginia Ruano-Pascual (ESP) / Paola Suarez (ARG)
- 2001: Lisa Raymond (USA) / Rennae Stubbs (AUS)
- 2000: Julie Halard-Decugis (FRA) / Ai Sugiyama (JPN)
- 1999: Martina Hingis (SUI) / Anna Kournikova (RUS)
- 1998: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Natalia Zvereva (BLR)
- 1997: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Jana Novotna (CZE)
- 1996: Lindsay Davenport (USA) / Mary Joe Fernandez (USA)


  • Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) and Rafael Nadal (ESP) Esther Vergeer (NED)
  • ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti (ITA) and Shingo Kunieda (JPN) Daria Gavrilova (RUS) and Juan Sebastian Gomez (COL)
  • Gisela Dulko (ARG) and Flavia Pennetta (ITA) Mike and Bob Bryan (USA)
  • Caroline Wozniacki (DEN) and Rafael Nadal (ESP) FFT President Jean Gachassin (FRA), Guy Forget (FRA) and ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti (ITA)
  • Guy Forget (FRA) Guy Forget (FRA)
  • 2010 ITF World Champions