

## Media Release

Contact: Robbie Gallaugher 604-333-3617 rgallaugher@curlbc.ca

## Parksville awarded 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men's Curling Championship with new championship format

Richmond, BC (May 11, 2011) – Curl BC is pleased to announce that the 2012 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men's Curling Championship has been awarded to the Parksville Curling Club. This event will run from February 8-12, 2012.

For the first time in its history, the Championship will follow a 16-team triple knockout with a 4-team page playoff format; a change from previous years' 10-team round-robin with page playoff formats.

This change comes as a result of an on-going playdown review being conducted by Curl BC to ensure that all respective playdowns meet the needs of the changing face of curling in BC. This change will only apply to the BC Men's playdowns, therefore the 2012 Scotties BC Women's Curling Championship presented by Best Western will remain a 10-team round-round with page playoff format.

The move to a triple-knockout will decrease the length of the Championship by 2 days for both the participating players and the volunteers. Most importantly, an additional six teams will now qualify for the event enabling more players to experience BC's top curling championship, increasing the opportunity for developing teams to qualify and guaranteeing that all games played during the week have significant meaning to both teams.

Teams will qualify for the Championship through the following berths:

- Defending champion
- Canadian Team Ranking System points leader as of December 1, 2011
- Open qualifier event #1 triple knockout with 4 qualifiers
- Open qualifier event #2 triple knockout with 4 qualifiers
- Open qualifier event #3 triple knockout with 3 qualifiers
- Open qualifier event #4 triple knockout with 3 qualifiers

The top men's teams in BC will battle for the title and a berth into the 2012 Tim Hortons Brier in Saskatoon, SK, March 3-11, 2012. The Canadian Direct Insurance BC Championship semi-final and final games will be televised on Shaw TV & Shaw Direct.

The BC Men's Curling Championship has produced four national championship teams skipped by Frenchy D'Amour (Trail – 1948), Lyall Dagg (Vancouver – 1964), Rick Folk (Kelowna – 1994) and Greg McAulay (Royal City – 2000).

The Parksville Curling Club was first formed in 1991, but did not find a building to call home until 2003, when it signed a lease with the Regional District to take over an old hockey arena. This facility hosted the 2007 BC Master Men's & Women's Curling Championships and the 2009 Scotties Tournament of Hearts BC Women's Curling Championship.

## About Curl BC

Curl BC is the provincial sport governing body responsible for the development, promotion and organization of curling in British Columbia. Curl BC is also responsible for the championship system that declares provincial representation at National events. In cooperation with its Members, Curl BC provides service to both competitive and recreational curlers, including a variety of adaptive sport groups.