Changes to the Ministry

FRI 02 MARCH 2012

Prime Minister

Today I announce changes to the Cabinet and Ministry that I will recommend to Her Excellency the Governor-General.

I have put together a team that will best equip my Government to pursue our priorities for the nation.

Cabinet changes

Bob Carr will join the Senate, and will take on the role of Minister for Foreign Affairs. Until he takes his place in the Senate, Craig Emerson will continue to act as Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Craig Emerson will also take on an expanded role of Minister for Trade and Competitiveness, paying particular attention to increasing Australia’s international economic competitiveness, with a focus on the Australia in the Asian Century White Paper.

Brendan O’Connor moves into Cabinet to take the position of Minister for Small Business, as well as Minister for Housing and Homelessness. Small businesses are central to Australia’s economy and deserve Cabinet-level representation.

Attorney-General Nicola Roxon will take on the additional portfolio of Emergency Management, which as I have made clear I believe must be a Cabinet-level appointment.

Tony Burke will take on the additional role of Vice-President of the Executive Council.

Ministry changes

Kate Lundy is promoted to Minister for Sport and Minister for Multicultural Affairs, as well as Minister Assisting for Industry and Innovation.

David Bradbury is promoted to the Ministry as Assistant Treasurer, and in the newly-created position of Minister Assisting for Deregulation.

Jason Clare will take on the additional portfolio of Minister for Defence Materiel.

Kim Carr will move to the crucial services delivery portfolio of Human Services. Minister Greg Combet will continue to be responsible for manufacturing at a Cabinet level.

I wish to thank Robert McClelland for his many years of service in the Ministry.

I am also announcing a number of changes to Parliamentary Secretary responsibilities.

Parliamentary Secretary changes

Jan McLucas will become Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister in addition to her existing duties, and Richard Marles will assume wider responsibilities with the additional title of Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs.

Bernie Ripoll becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer, while Sharon Bird becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Higher Education and Skills.

Jacinta Collins will become Manager of Government Business in the Senate following Mark Arbib’s retirement.

I want to thank all Ministers who have served the Government so well in their current portfolios.

I will recommend to Her Excellency the Governor-General that the new Ministry be sworn in on Monday 5 March 2012.