## TABLE 1. PRECIS OF RESULTS OF QUEENSLAND STATE ELECTIONS 1932 TO 2009 (a)

(on basis of valid first-preference votes)

		Govern	(ies)	<b>Principal Opposition Parties and Independents</b>								
<b>Election Date</b>	Electorates	Party Se	ats Won	% Votes	Party Sea	ts Wo	n% Votes	Party Sea	ts Wo	n% Votes		
11.06.1932	62	ALP	33	49.89	Country National	28	45.21	IND	1	-		
11.05.1935	62	ALP	46	53.43	Country National	16	33.79					
02.04.1938	62	ALP	44	47.17	Country	13	22.64	UAP	4	13.97		
29.03.1941	62	ALP	41	51.41	Country	14	20.89	UAP	4	15.61		
15.04.1944	62	ALP	37	44.67	Country	12	17.60	QLD People's	7	24.72		
03.05.1947	62	ALP	35	43.58	Country	14	19.49	QLD People's	9	25.73		
29.04.1950	75	ALP	42	46.87	Country	20	19.25	Liberal	11	29.91		
07.03.1953	75	ALP	50	53.21	Country	15	18.75	Liberal	8	21.29		
19.05.1956	75	ALP	49	50.69	Country	16	19.73	Liberal	8	26.10		
03.08.1957	75	Country-Liberal	42	43.22	ALP	20	28.95	QLP	11	23.39		
28.05.1960	78	Country-Liberal	46	43.53	ALP	25	39.89	QLP	4	12.28		
01.06.1963	78	Country-Liberal	46	44.06	ALP	26	43.83	QLP	1	7.23		
28.05.1966	78	Country-Liberal	47	44.78	ALP	26	43.84	QLP	1	6.38		
17.05.1969	78	Country-Liberal	45	44.70	ALP	31	44.49	DLP	1	7.24		
27.05.1972	82	Country-Liberal	47	42.23	ALP	33	46.75	DLP	-	7.62		
07.12.1974	82	National-Liberal	69	58.97	ALP	11	36.03	DLP	-	1.91		
12.11.1977	82	National-Liberal	59	52.37	ALP	23	42.83	DEM	-	1.62		
29.11.1980	82	National-Liberal	57	54.86	ALP	25	41.49	DEM	-	1.38		
22.10.1983	82	National	41	38.93	ALP	32	43.98	Liberal	$8^{(b)}$	14.88		

ALP

30

41.35

39.64

Liberal

10 16.50

01.11.1986

89

National

02.12.1989	89	ALP	54	50.32	National	27	24.09	Liberal	8	21.05			
19.09.1992	89	ALP	54	48.73	National	26	23.71	Liberal	9	20.44			
15.07.1995 <sup>(c)</sup>	89	ALP	45	42.89	National	29	26.25	Liberal	14	22.74			
$13.06.1998^{(d)}$	89	ALP	44	38.86	National	23	15.17	Liberal	9	16.09	PHON	11	22.68
17.02.2001 <sup>(e)</sup>	89	ALP	66	48.93	National	12	14.16	Liberal	3	14.32	PHON	3	8.69
$07.02.2004^{(g)}$	89	ALP	63	47.01	National	15	16.96	Liberal	5	18.50		$6^{\tiny{\scriptsize{(f)}}}$	17.51
$09.09.2006^{(h)}$	89	ALP	59	46.92	National	17	17.82	Liberal	8	20.20		5 <sup>(i)</sup>	15.16
21.03.2009 <sup>(j)</sup>	89	ALP	51	42.25	Liberal-National	34	41.60				IND	4	5.65

<sup>(</sup>a) For data prior to the 1932 election, see previous Handbooks.

b) Includes B. Austin and D. Lane who were elected as Liberal candidates in 1983 but subsequently resigned and joined the National Party.

<sup>(</sup>c) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 15.07.1995. One Independent candidate was also elected. The Court of Disputed Returns ordered a new election in the seat of Mundingburra. The seat, previously won by the ALP, was won by the Liberal Party at the new election held on 03.02.1996. The ALP Government resigned on 19.02.1996 and a National/Liberal Government was sworn in.

<sup>(</sup>d) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 13.06.1998. Two Independent candidates were elected. A by-election on 05.12.1998 in Mulgrave electorate previously held by Pauline Hanson's One, Nation (PHON) resulted in a win by the ALP. The PHON party was deregistered on 19.08.1999 and the City Country Alliance Queensland (CCAQ) was established on 22.12.1999. Four former PHON Members became Independents and six joined the CCAQ. On 05.02.2000, two by-elections in Woodridge and Bundamba electorates once again returned ALP Members.

<sup>(</sup>e) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 17.02.2001. On 05.05.2001, the Surfers Paradise electorate, formerly held by the Queensland Nationals, returned an Independent. In December 2001 Independent Member Mr Ray Hopper MP joined the National Party. On 18.04.2002 Ms Elisa Roberts MP, elected as a member of Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party, became an Independent. On 23.01.2001, the PHON party was reregistered; on 21.06.2002, its name was changed to One Nation Queensland Division. On 26 April 2003, a by-election for the seat of Maryborough resulted in its Independent Member being replaced with another Independent.

<sup>(</sup>f) Includes five Independent candidates and one One Nation Party Queensland (ONP) candidate.

<sup>(</sup>g) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 07.02.2004. On 20.08.2005, the Chatsworth and Redcliffe electorates, formerly held by the Australian Labor Party, returned two Liberal Party members. On 01.04.2006, a by-election was held for the seat of Gaven following the resignation of the Labor member. The by-election was won by the National Party candidate.

<sup>(</sup>h) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 09.09.2006. On 09.09.2008, the Liberal Party and National Party amalgamated and formed the Liberal National Party (LNP). On 05.10.2008, Mr Ronan Lee MP (ALP) became a member of the Queensland Greens. On 24.02.2009, Mr Stuart Copeland MP (LNP) became an Independent.

<sup>(</sup>i) Includes four Independent candidates and one One Nation Party Queensland (ONP) candidate.

<sup>(</sup>j) Number of seats won and percentage of votes cast are as recorded at the election on 21.03.2009.