ICCS CHRONICLE

ICCS Presidents

Mr. Stampa 1948-1952 Mr. Delvaux 1988-1989
Mr. Standaert 1952-1955 Mr. Breukelaar 1990-1991
Mr. Deltel 1955-1958 Mr. Jäger 1992-1993
Mr. Delvaux 1958-1961 Mr. Gökalp 1994-1995
Mr. Van Sasse 1961-1964 Mr. Dainotto 1996-1997
Mr. Götz 1964-1967 Mr. Frank, 1998 –1999

 Mr. Oguzoglu 1967-1970
 Mrs Verschraegen 2000-2001

 Mr. Ferid 1970-1973
 Mr. Koumantos 2002-2003

 Mr. Monaco 1973-1975
 Mr. Teixeira de Sousa 2004-2005

 Mr. Schwind 1975-1977
 Mrs Demoustier 2006-2007

 Mr. Koumantos 1978-1980
 Mr. Mazars 2007-2009

 Mr. Pinheiro Farinha 1980-1982
 Mr. Lazarte Alvarez 2010

 Mr. Van Langenaeken 1982-1984
 Mrs Guzmán Zapater 2011

 Mr. Macniven 2012 Mr. Macniven 2012

Mr. Massip 1984-1985

Mr. Espín Cánovas 1986-1987

ICCS Secretaries General

Mr. Van Praag 1948-1965 Mr. Massip 1994-1999
Mrs Bosch Van Rosenthal 1965-1966 Mr. Lagarde 2000-2008

Mr. Simitis 1967-1981 Mrs. Schmidt-Szalewski 2009-2011

Mr. Bischoff 1981-1993 Mr Pintens 2012-

ICCS General Assemblies

29 and 30 September 1948 in Amsterdam. Establishment of a provisional committee entitled "Commission Internationale de l'Etat Civil". Drafting of the first Rules.

28 and 29 September 1949 in Brussels.

25 and **26** September **1950** in Berne. Signature on 25 September of the Protocol proposed by the French Government concerning the official recognition of the International Commission on Civil Status by the Governments of the five States represented (Belgium - France - Luxembourg - Netherlands - Switzerland). Revision of the Rules.

27 to 29 September 1951 in Paris. Adoption on 27 September of financial regulations.

25 to 27 September 1952 in Luxembourg. Adoption on 27 September of new Rules. Signature on 25 September of the additional Protocol to the Protocol of Berne of 25 September 1950.

24 to 26 September 1953 in The Hague. Admission on 24 September of Turkey.

23 to 25 September 1954 in Brussels.

22 to 24 September 1955 in Lugano.

27 to 29 September 1956 in Paris. Admission on 27 September of Germany. Signature on 27 September of Convention N° 1.

26 to 28 September 1957 in Luxembourg. Signature on 26 September of Convention N° 2.

4 to 6 September 1958 in Istanbul. Admission on 4 September of Italy. Signature on 4 September of Conventions N° 3 and N° 4.

3 to 5 September 1959 in The Hague. Admission on 3 September of Greece.

1 to 3 September 1960 in Berlin.

14 to 16 September 1961 in Rome. Admission on 14 September of Austria. Signature on 14 September of Convention N° 5

12 to 14 September 1962 in Brussels, Signature on 12 September of Convention N° 6.

4 to 6 September 1963 in Montreux. Adoption on 5 September of new Rules.

10 to 12 September 1964 in Paris. Signature on 10 September of Conventions N° 7, N° 8 and N° 9.

8 to 11 September 1965 in Vienna

14 to 18 September 1966 in Athens. Signature on 14 September of Convention N° 10.

6 to 9 September 1967 in Luxembourg. Signature on 8 September of Convention N° 11. Adoption on 8 September of Recommendation N° 1.

3 to 7 September 1968 in Istanbul.

9 to 12 September 1969 in Wiesbaden.

7 to 12 September 1970 in Rome. Signature on 10 September of Convention N° 12.

6 to 11 September 1971 in The Hague.

5 to 8 September 1972 in Brussels.

10 14 September 1973 in Interlaken. "Conference on topical questions relating to civil status" from 10 to 12 September. Admission on 13 September of Portugal. Signature, in Berne, on 13 September of Conventions N° 13 and N° 14.

10 to 13 September 1974 in Paris. Signature on 12 September of Convention N° 15. Admission on 13 September of Spain.

9 to 12 September 1975 in Lisbon.

7 to 10 September 1976 in Vienna. Signature on 8 September of Convention N° 16. Adoption on 8 September of Recommendation N° 2.

12 to 16 September 1977 in Athens. Signature on 15 September of Convention N° 17.

12 to 16 September 1978 in Madrid.

4 to 8 September 1979 in Cesme.

2 to 6 September 1980 in Munich. Adoption on 3 September of Recommendation N° 3. Signature on 5 September of Conventions N° 18, N° 19 and N° 20.

8 to 12 September 1981 in Luxembourg.

7 to 11 September 1982 in The Hague. Signature on 8 September of Convention N° 21.

6 to 10 September 1983 in Brussels.

3 to 8 September 1984 in Rome. Adoption on 5 September of Recommendation N° 4.

2 to 7 September 1985 in Basle. Signature on 3 September of Convention N° 22.

1 to 7 September 1986 in Paris.

7 to 12 September 1987 in Lisbon. Adoption on 10 September of Recommendation N° 5.

5 to 10 September 1988 in Salzburg.

4 to 9 September 1989 in Patras. Signature on 6 September of Convention N° 23. Adoption on 8 September of Recommendation N° 6.

3 to 8 September 1990 in Madrid. Signature on 5 September of Convention N° 24. Adoption on 7 September of Recommendation N° 7.

21 March 1991 in Strasbourg. Extraordinary General Assembly. Adoption of Recommendation N° 8.

9 to 14 September 1991 in Istanbul.

7 to 12 septembre 1992 in Berlin. "International day on civil status" on 9 September.

6 to 10 September 1993 in Mondorf-les-Bains.

5 to 9 September 1994 in The Hague

4 to 8 September 1995 in Brussels. Signature on 6 September of Convention N° 25.

10 to 12 September 1996 in Rome. Admission on 11 September of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

8 to 13 September 1997 in Neuchâtel. Signature on 12 September of Convention N° 26.

26 March 1998 in Strasbourg. Extraordinary General Assembly.

7 to 12 September 1998 in Paris. Admission on 9 September of Poland. Signature on 10 September of Convention N° 27.

25 March 1999 in Strasbourg. Extraordinary General Assembly. Admission of Croatia.

13 to 18 September 1999 in Lisbon. Admission on 15 September of Hungary. Signature on 14 September of Convention N° 28.

12 to 15 September 2000 in Vienna. Signature on 12 September of Convention N° 29.

17 to 20 September 2001 in Athens. Signature on 17 September of Convention N° 30. Adoption on 19 September of the new Rules and financial regulations.

26 to 28 March 2002 in Strasbourg.

10 to 13 September 2002 in Dubrovnik.

11 to 13 March 2003 in Strasbourg.

23 to 26 September 2003 in Madrid.

10 to 12 March 2004 in Strasbourg.

14 to 17 September in Edinburgh.

15 to 18 March 2005 in Strasbourg. Adoption on 17 March of Recommendation N° 9.

13 to 16 September 2005 in Antalya. Signature on 16 September of Convention N° 31.

28 to 31 March 2006 in Strasbourg.

12 to 15 September 2006 in Cracow.

21 to 23 March 2007 in Strasbourg.

4 to 8 September 2007 in Munich. Opening for signature on 5 September of Convention N° 32.

4 to 7 March 2008 in Strasbourg.

8 to 13 September 2008 in Luxembourg.

9 to 13 March 2009 in Strasbourg.

7 to 11 September 2009 in Strasbourg.

15 to 19 March 2010 in Strasbourg.

13 to 17 September 2010 in Łódź. Admission on 15 September of Mexico.

14 to 18 March 2011 in Strasbourg.

19 to 23 September 2011 in Brussels.

1^{er} to 3 February 2012. Adoption on 2 February of Convention n° 33.

Next meeting: September 2012 in Rome.