DAVID C. SWEET DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD Local Officials Leadership Academy



PAST AWARD WINNERS

Distinguished Elected Officials:

Vince Urbin, former Avon Lake Mayor (2000)

Kathleen Chandler, former Portage County Commissioner (2001)

Jeffrey Lansky, Maple Heights City Council President (2002)

Jan Devereaux, former Shaker Heights Council Member (2003)

Dennis Clough, Mayor, Westlake, Ohio (2004)

Dona Brady, City of Cleveland City Council (2005)

Nan Baker, Westlake City Council (2006)

Thomas O'Grady, Mayor, City of North Olmsted (2007)

John Bender, Former State Representative (2008)

Greg Zilka, Avon Lake City Council President (2009)

Mark A. Parks Jr., Village of Orange, (2010)

Distinguished Administrative Leaders:

Richard Connelly, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (2000)
Hubert Bobo, Shaker Heights Public Works Department (2001)
Alexandra Turk, Cuyahoga County (2002)
Kenneth Pew, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (2003)
John Hosek, Northeast Ohio Area Coordinating Agency (2004)
David Coyle, Ohio Department of Transportation (2005)
Philip Brett, Mayfield Village (2006)
Kamla Lewis, City of Shaker Heights (2007)
Darnell Brown, City of Cleveland (2008)
Joseph Reitz, City of Avon Lake (2009)
Ron Owens, City of Cleveland, (2010)

Distinguished Community/Non-Profit Leaders:

David C. Sweet, Dean, Levin College of Urban Affairs, CSU (2000)
Sari Feldman Cleveland Public Library (2001)
Andrea Battle Sims, University Heights (2002)
David Sacco, City of Westlake (2003)
Bonita W. Caplan, Chair, Board of Governors, Cuyahoga County Community

Bonita W. Caplan, Chair, Board of Governors, Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board & Cleveland Heights City Council Member (2004) Joyce Able Schroth, City of Westlake (2005)
William Denihan, Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board (2006)
Gregory Reese, East Cleveland Public Library (2007)
Scott Osiecki, Mental Health Board (2008)
Elaine Sutton, MyCOM Managing Consultant (2009)
Mary Denihan, Cuyahoga County Child Support Enforcement Agency (2010)

Outstanding Academy Fellows:

Paul Wasilewski, formerly of ODOT - Academy VIII (1999-2000)
Theresa Abraham-Whalley, Shaker Heights Council - Academy IX (2000-2001)
Luis Vazquez, Cuyahoga County - Academy X (2001)
Deborah Sutherland, Bay Village Mayor - Academy XI (2002)
Valeria Harper-Bledsoe, Cuyahoga County Community Mental
Health Board - Academy XII (2003)
Ann Marie Donegan, Council Member, City of Olmsted Falls, Academy XIII (2004)
Ken Patton, City of Brooklyn Mayor - Academy XIV (2005)
Joseph Saponaro, Mayfield Village City Council - Academy XV (2006)
Joseph Cicero, City of Lyndhurst Mayor - Academy XVI (2007)
Kacie Armstrong, Cleveland Public Library - Academy XVII (2008)
Floun'say Caver, Greater Cleveland RTA - Academy XVIII (2009)
Lisa Farmer-Cole, Cleveland Metropolitan School District - Academy XIX (2010)
Kay Satula, Greater Cleveland RTA - Academy XX (2011)

Special Award:

Joan McFaul, MetroHealth Systems (2002) Sari Feldman, Cleveland Public Library (2002) Sondra Smalley & Vera Vogelsang Coombs, Cleveland State University (2006) Erwin Odeal, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (2007)