About The MTA Police

MTA Police Main Page

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority Police Department is the police agency of New York's Metropolitan Transportation Authority. Officers of the MTAPD are fully empowered under the New York State Public Authorities Law and are commissioned in the state of Connecticut. Its jurisdiction extends across fourteen counties in two states, covers approximately 5,000 square miles, including New York City, Long Island, southeastern New York State and southern Connecticut, and serves a population of 14.4 million people.

The department was formed in 1998 with the consolidation of the Long Island Rail Road and the Metro-North Railroad Police Departments. Since 9/11, the department has expanded in size and has ramped up dramatically its counter-terrorism capabilities, adding canine teams and emergency services officers.

On June 1, 2005 the 25-member MTA Staten Island Railway Police Department – which was responsible for policing Staten Island Railway – merged with the MTA Police. This was the most recent step in consolidating MTA agency law enforcement, and increased the total workforce of the department to 716, including civilians.


  • Google Translate