Try-gluttons UCT open their account

The FNB Ikey Tigers won their first match of the 2012 Varsity Cup campaign and also finally got onto the log in their third outing with a comprehensive 66-2 bonus-point hiding over the FNB TUT Vikings at the TUT Stadium on Monday night.

The result in the battle between the two last-placed sides on the log was all but settled by half-time when the Ikeys were ahead 21-2 after running in three tries by their backs against a solitary penalty by the home side.

TUT had put up a fair resistance and the scoreline at half-time was perhaps a little flattering to the Ikeys, but the Vikings squandered too many opportunities to be a threat to the visitors.

They had their moments and their forwards were adequate, but poor handling and options cost the Vikings dearly. Their line-outs were also not up to standard.

In the second half the Ikeys carried on from they had left off, and towards the end there was a deluge of tries as they ran up another six second-half tries for a total of nine against a side that ultimately had little to offer after their initial firm resistance.

While the home team resorted to negative tactics after the break and especially in the last quarter in an effort to keep the scoreline respectable, the Ikeys turned on the charm and at times played some scintillating rugby. Ikeys No.8 Rayn Smid, starting his first Varsity Cup game, had a field day - scoring four of his team's nine tries.

The winners' nine tries put the FNB Maties' big 52-2 win against the Vikings in the first round in perspective but it remains to be seen if the Vikings are a team to really measure your prowess against.

The Ikeys will nevertheless be pleased with their effort which sees them creep closer to the other teams on the log after a dismal start to the competition in their first two outings against the FNB Shimlas and FNB UJ.

The scorers:

For the FNB TUT Vikings:
Pen: Van Loo

Tries: Winter, Slatem, Leyds, Smid 4, Webb, Nel
Cons: Holton 7

The teams:

TUT: 15 Hagen Mumba, 14 Ruan van Loo, 13 Rikus de Beer, 12 Brahm du Preez, 11 Craig Pheiffer, 10 Hansie Graaff, 9 Nico Smuts, 8 Wikus Botes, 7 Yves Basiya, 6 Ryno Coetzee, 5 JJ Breett, 4 Gavin Engelbrecht, 3 Zandre Grobler, 2 Johan Pieterse (captain), 1 Coert van Gerve.
Replacements: 16 Dandre van der Westhuyzen, 17 Nico van den Heever, 18 Peter Matthews, 19 Ryno Lopes, 20 Manny Raposo, 21 Melcolm Griffiths, 22 Craig van Rooi, 23 Nathi Sethusse.

UCT: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Damian de Allende, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 Michael Morris, 11 Mark Winter, 10 Nick Holton, 9 Liam Slatem, 8 Rayn Smid, 7 Zandy Macdonald, 6 Ntsolo Setlaba (captain), 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Brad Bosman, 3 Francois van Wyk, 2 Dayne Jans, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Adriaan Botha, 18 James Kilroe, 19 Greg Mallett, 20 Ricky Schroeder, 21 Paul Cohen, 22 Nathan Nel, 23 Digby Webb.

Referee: Tiaan Jonker
Assistant referees: Lihan Pretorius, Quinton van Huysteen

By Wim van der Berg

Add a comment