Where do I get MSDE?
MSDE is a "light" version of SQL Server, meant to handle small (usually web-based) applications, or for prototyping / developing your system before deploying to live servers. MSDE is free, but you should be aware of licensing and other limitations of MSDE, before you decide to build and distribute applications which use the technology. See Article #2343 for links and other information.
With that disclaimer out of the way, you can download MSDE directly from Microsoft; you can also download it from the ASP.Net Web Matrix project.
In addition, you can obtain MSDE from a variety of Microsoft products, including Visual Studio.NET, Office 2003 Professional, and any "real" version of SQL Server. There is usually a folder called "MSDE" or "MSDE 2000" on the installation CD.
Please see KB #831862 for an update on the changes in MSDE 2000 Release A.
Related ArticlesHow do I build a query with optional parameters?
How do I calculate the median in a table?
How do I create a store locator feature?
How do I deal with MEMO, TEXT, HYPERLINK, and CURRENCY columns?
How do I deal with multiple resultsets from a stored procedure?
How do I debug my SQL statements?
How do I determine if a column exists in a given table?
How do I enable or disable connection pooling?
How do I enumerate through the DSNs on a machine?
How do I find a stored procedure containing <text>?
How do I get a list of Access tables and their row counts?
How do I get the latest version of the JET OLEDB drivers?
How do I handle alphabetic paging?
How do I handle BIT / BOOLEAN columns?
How do I handle error checking in a stored procedure?
How do I ignore common words in a search?
How do I page through a recordset?
How do I present one-to-many relationships in my ASP page?
How do I prevent duplicates in a table?
How do I prevent my ASP pages from waiting for backend activity?
How do I prevent NULLs in my database from mucking up my HTML?
How do I protect my Access database (MDB file)?
How do I protect my stored procedure code?
How do I protect myself against the W32.Slammer worm?
How do I remove duplicates from a table?
How do I rename a column?
How do I retrieve a random record?
How do I return row numbers with my query?
How do I send a database query to a text file?
How do I simulate an array inside a stored procedure?
How do I solve 'Could not find installable ISAM' errors?
How do I solve 'Operation must use an updateable query' errors?
How do I temporarily disable a trigger?
How do I use a SELECT list alias in the WHERE or GROUP BY clause?
How do I use a variable in an ORDER BY clause?
Should I index my database table(s), and if so, how?
Should I store images in the database or the filesystem?
Should I use a #temp table or a @table variable?
Should I use a view, a stored procedure, or a user-defined function?
Should I use recordset iteration, or GetRows(), or GetString()?
What are all these dt_ stored procedures, and can I remove them?
What are the limitations of MS Access?
What are the limitations of MSDE?
What are the valid styles for converting datetime to string?
What datatype should I use for my character-based database columns?
What datatype should I use for numeric columns?
What does "ambiguous column name" mean?
What is this 'Multiple-step OLE DB' error?
What is wrong with 'SELECT *'?
What naming convention should I use in my database?
What should I choose for my primary key?
What should my connection string look like?
When should I use CreateObject to create my recordset objects?
Where can I get this 'Books Online' documentation?
Which database platform should I use for my ASP application?
Which tool should I use: Enterprise Manager or Query Analyzer?
Why are there gaps in my IDENTITY / AUTOINCREMENT column?
Why can I not 'open a database created with a previous version...'?
Why can't I access a database or text file on another server?
Why can't I use the TOP keyword?
Why do I get 'Argument data type text is invalid for argument [...]'?
Why do I get 'Not enough space on temporary disk' errors?
Why does ASP give me ActiveX errors when connecting to a database?
Should I use COALESCE() or ISNULL()?
Where can I get basic info about using stored procedures?