ADF Allied Attorney Success Stories: April 2011

NLA Image
Equip, Empower, and Defend Image

Congratulations to allied attorneys Aaron White, Cathi Herrod, Deborah Sheasby, J. Lee McCoy, John Mauck, John Stemberger, Josh and Jamie Grosshans, Judith Fouladi, Mark Matney, John Stepanovich, Mark Rienzi, Martina Kulick, Michael Tierney, Stephen Casey, Stephen Wallace, Timothy Fox, Wallace Larson, as well as new Honor Corps members, George Weaver, Joseph La Rue, Natalie Decker, Tyson Langhofer and Valerie LeMaster, for their recent accomplishments and successes listed below.  Please take time to congratulate them!

Aaron M. White (Vaughn Legal Group).  Aaron obtained dismissal of criminal charges against two street preachers in Venice, CA.

Cathi Herrod and Deborah M. Sheasby (Center for Arizona Policy).  CAP sponsored legislation requiring an ultrasound and informed consent for women considering abortion was signed into law by the Governor on April 2, 2011.

Andy Norman and John Mauck (Mauck & Baker, LLC). Andy and John obtained a positive result on RLUIPA claims in Power of Praise Church v. City of Dixmoor.  The church will be able to operate without further interference by the Village.

John Stemberger (Law Offices of John Stemberger, PA), Jamie R. Grosshans (The Grosshans Group, P.L.)  and Joshua D. Grosshans (Mateer Harbert).  John provided Jamie and Josh the support they needed to, in turn, assist Operation Outcry in Orlando, FL in helping a 16-year-old girl whose parents were trying to force her into having an abortion.

Judith Michael Fouladi, Esq. has been appointed to the Orange County Superior Court as a Court Referee.

Mark R. Matney (Michael C. Tillotson, LLC) and John Stepanovich (Stepanovich Law & Associates, PLC.).  Mark and John succeeded in reducing excessive discipline against a teacher who was treated unfairly because of past disputes with the principal over religious speech and sponsorship of Christian clubs on campus.

Mark Rienzi (Columbus School of Law).  Mark persuaded an Illinois trial judge to overturn regulations requiring pharmacists to fill prescriptions for so-called “emergency contraception” in Morr-Fitz, Inc. Luke Van der Bleek v. Blagojevich.

Martina Kulick (Martina Kulick, Attorney at Law).  Martina persuaded a woman’s employer to accommodate her belief that she should not work on Sundays.

Michael Tierney (Wadleigh Starr & Peters, P.L.L.C.).  After Michael filed a motion for preliminary injunction in Signs for Jesus v. Town of Chichester, the town reversed course and voted to allow an electronic sign that will display a Bible verse every day.  The town originally rejected the sign because of its “dangerous,” “distracting,” religious content.

Stephen Casey (Casey Law Office, P.C.) and Gregory R. Terra (Law Office of Gregory R. Terra), founders of the Texas Center for Defense of Life.  Stephen and Greg were instrumental in helping another young woman change her mind about abortion – another life saved!

Stephen J. Wallace (Drinker, Biddle & Reath LLP).  When Stephen sent a letter on behalf of a pro-life demonstrator harassed by police for praying on a sidewalk outside an abortion clinic, he received an immediate call from the Chief of Police agreeing not to interfere further.

Timothy C. Fox (Gough, Shanahan, Johnson & Waterman, PLLP).  Tim obtained dismissal of charges of disturbing the peace against a Whitefish, Montana street preacher.  Tim has also been selected to serve on the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights’ Montana Advisory Committee.

Wallace L. Larson (Carson Messinger, PLLC).  Wally has been honored as the Chairperson of the 2011 Arizona Governor’s Prayer Breakfast.  The breakfast is going forward despite a Freedom From Religion Foundation lawsuit over the Governor’s proclamation of a day of prayer in 2010.

The following allied attorneys participated as amicus writers in support of the recent U.S. Supreme Court decision in Arizona Christian School Tuition Organization v. Winn:

Robert H. Tyler, Jennifer L. Monk (Advocates for Faith & Freedom); Colby May, James H. Henderson, Sr., Stuart Roth, Walter M. Weber (American Center for Law and Justice); Professor Robert Destro (Columbus School of Law); Lawrence J. Van Dyke, IV (Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, LLP); Kelly Shackelford, Hiram S. Sasser, Jeffrey C. Mateer (Liberty Institute); Kevin “Seamus” Hasson, Eric C. Rassbach (The Becket Fund for Religious Liberty); Deborah J. Dewart (Deborah J. Dewart, Attorney at Law) and Rita M. Dunaway (On Point Legal Consulting, LLC).

Allied Attorney Honor Corps. This month George Weaver (Hollberg & Weaver, LLP), Joseph La Rue (Bopp, Coleson & Bostrom), Natalie Decker (The Law Office of Natalie L. Decker, LLC), Tyson Langhofer (Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP), and Valerie R. LeMaster (Mackenzie & Dornik) were inducted into the Allied Attorney Honor Corps. Allied Attorneys become Honor Corps members when they have reported at least 450 hours of qualifying pro bono work.

Pro Bono Reporting: Last month, we received pro bono reports from 81 allied attorneys.   Thank you

Don’t forget: if you have had a recent success or noteworthy accomplishment, we want to hear from you even if the issue is unrelated to the ADF core areas! It’s a great way for us to encourage each other.

Please note that we sometimes report successes or noteworthy items that are not within ADF areas of focus and that would not qualify for pro bono credit.

Thank you,
Glen Lavy
Senior Vice President
ADF Logo


More information:

For attorneys: ADF National Litigation Academy

For law students: Blackstone Legal Fellowship