Seeds announced for Olympic Tennis Event


Photo: Paul ZimmerRoger Federer (SUI)

The ITF has announced the seeds for the draw for the London 2012 Olympic Tennis Event, which will take place on Thursday 26 July at 11am (BST) on site at Wimbledon. Seeds are based on the ATP and WTA world rankings of Monday, 23 July.

Wimbledon champion Roger Federer (SUI) is top seed for men’s singles, with Beijing Olympic bronze medallist Novak Djokovic (SRB) seeded No. 2. Federer, who teamed up with Stanislas Wawrinka to win doubles gold for Switzerland in Beijing, is still looking for his first Olympic medal in singles. Home favourite Andy Murray (GBR) is seeded No. 3, followed by David Ferrer (ESP) at No. 4. Ferrer will be leading the Spanish challenge in the absence of defending champion Rafael Nadal through injury.

Australian Open champion Victoria Azarenka (BLR) tops the women’s seeds, followed by 2012 Wimbledon runner-up Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) at No. 2. Roland Garros winner Maria Sharapova (RUS) is seeded No. 3, followed by Wimbledon champion Serena Williams (USA) at No. 4. Serena is bidding for her third Olympic doubles title with her sister Venus, who also captured singles gold at Sydney.

The seeds for the doubles are based on the combined rankings of each team, with each player using the higher of their singles and doubles world rankings.

Bob and Mike Bryan (USA), bronze medallists in Beijing, are top seeds in the men’s doubles, with defending champions Roger Federer and Stanislas Wawrinka seeded No. 6. Liezel Huber and Lisa Raymond (USA) are seeded No. 1 in the women’s doubles, while defending champions the Williams sisters are unseeded.

If there are two players or doubles teams from the same country, they will be drawn in opposite halves of the draw. If there are three or more players/teams from the same country, they will be drawn in different quarters of the draw.

The draw for the 16-team mixed doubles event will be held during the Olympic Tennis Event on Tuesday 31 July.

A full list of the seeds is below.

MEN’S SINGLES                                                         

1. Roger Federer (SUI)                                               
2. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
3. Andy Murray (GBR)                                               
4. David Ferrer (ESP)                                    
5. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)                           
6. Tomas Berdych (CZE)                                           
7. Janko Tipsarevic (SRB)                                         
8. Juan Martin del Potro (ARG)                                  
9. Juan Monaco (ARG)                                              
10. John Isner (USA)                                                   
11. Nicolas Almagro (ESP)                                          
12. Gilles Simon (FRA)                                                            
13. Marin Cilic (CRO)                                                   
14. Fernando Verdasco (ESP)                         
15. Kei Nishikori (JPN)                                    
16. Richard Gasquet (FRA)                                          


1. Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
2. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) 
3. Maria Sharapova (RUS)
4. Serena Williams (USA)
5. Samantha Stosur (AUS)
6. Petra Kvitova (CZE)
7. Angelique Kerber (GER)
8. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
9. Sara Errani (ITA)
10. Li Na (CHN)
11. Ana Ivanovic (SRB)
12. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)              
13. Vera Zvonareva (RUS)
14. Maria Kirilenko (RUS)
15. Sabine Lisicki (GER)
16. Nadia Petrova (RUS)

MEN’S DOUBLES                                                        

1. Bob Bryan/Mike Bryan (USA)
2. Michael Llodra/Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)     
3. Janko Tipsarevic/Nenad Zimonjic (SRB)                  
4. Mariusz Fyrstenberg/Marcin Matkowski (POL)          
5. Tomas Berdych/Radek Stepanek (CZE)                   
6. Roger Federer/Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)      
7. Mahesh Bhupathi/Rohan Bopanna (IND)
8. Novak Djokovic/Victor Troicki (SRB)


1. Liezel Huber/Lisa Raymond (USA)
2. Sara Errani/Roberta Vinci (ITA)
3. Maria Kirilenko/Nadia Petrova (RUS)
4. Andrea Hlavackova/Lucie Hradecka (CZE)
5. Angelique Kerber/Sabine Lisicki (GER)
6. Ekaterina Makarova/Elena Vesnina (RUS)
7. Flavia Pennetta/Francesca Schiavone (ITA)
8. Nuria Llagostera Vives/Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez (ESP)



  • twitter

    No.1 Court schedule for Sat (starts 12noon): Nalbandian v Tipsarevic, Stosur v Suarez Navarro, Kvitova v Bondarenko, Dodig v Del Potro 27 Jul 06:39    Reply Reply

  • twitter

    Centre Court schedule for Sat (starts 12noon): Berdych v Darcis, S.Williams v Jankovic, Federer v Falla, Keothavong v Wozniacki 27 Jul 06:37    Reply Reply

  • twitter

    Saturday's schedule has been released for the Olympic Tennis Event @Wimbledon - check it out here 27 Jul 06:34    Reply Reply