

## TOUGALOO COLLEGE NEWS www.tougaloo.edu Fax 601.977.4492

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 31, 2008

CONTACT: Danny Lee Jones, Director of External Affairs, 601.977.7870

dljones@tougaloo.edu or dannyleejones@earthlink.net OR

Detrice W. Johnson, Media Relations Associate, 601.977.7871, djohnson@tougaloo.edu

## TOUGALOO COLLEGE STUDENT SELECTED AS A 2008 TRUMAN SCHOLAR

**Tougaloo, MS**- Jarvis McInnis, a junior English major at Tougaloo College has been selected as the first Harry S. Truman Scholar in the college's history. A native of Gulfport, McInnis aspires to become a college professor and a U.S. Senator. While a student at Tougaloo College, McInnis has received other national awards, including the 2006 Boys & Girls Clubs of America Youth of the Year. As Youth of the Year, McInnis raised \$25,000 to aid in the rebuilding of local clubs affected by Hurricane Katrina. McInnis is a UNCF-Mellon Fellow and the recipient of the Institute for Responsible Citizenship Award.

The Harry S. Truman Foundation selected 65 scholars out of 595 candidates from 55 U.S. Colleges and Universities to receive scholarships. The seventeen independent selection panels typically include a university president, a federal judge, a distinguished public servant and a past Truman Scholarship winner.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation seeks to find and recognize college juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education or elsewhere in the area of public service, and to provide them with financial support for graduate study, leadership training, and fellowship with other students who are committed to making a difference through public service. Scholarship awardees are provided with up to \$30,000 in financial assistance while pursuing graduate degrees in the fields of public service.

Founded in 1869, Tougaloo College is a private, historically black, coeducational four-year liberal arts institution, located on the northern edge of Jackson, Mississippi. Known nationally as "The Cradle of the Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi," the College is led by its first female president, Dr. Beverly Wade Hogan. The 13th president of Tougaloo College, Dr. Hogan is a 1973 graduate of the College and a native Mississippian. Under her visionary leadership, the College boasts a student retention rate of 88%, well above the national average, and ranks as one the top five historically black colleges and universities whose graduates earn their PbDs in the sciences. More than half (66%) of its graduates enter graduate and professional schools immediately after graduation. Today, Tougaloo College is the leading producer of African American health professionals, including over 40% of the physicians and dentists, practicing in the state of Mississippi. It has produced more than one-third of the state's African American attorneys and educators, including teachers, principals, and school superintendents. Its alumni include Congressman Bennie Thompson, Judges Tomeie Green, Denise Sweet Owens and Constance Slaughter-Harvey; scholars and educators Dr. Jayne Sargent, Dr. Jerry Ward, Dr. Oscar Rodgers, Dr. Joffre Whisenton, Dr. Rosentene B. Purnell, and Dr. Joyce Ladner; Attorneys Reuben Anderson, Edward Blackmon, Isaac K. Byrd, Robert Gibbs, Precious Martin and Dennis Sweet; physicians Dr. Aaron Shirley, Dr. Malcolm Taylor, Dr. Myrna Alexander Nickens and Dr. Alphonso Willis; and Dr. Walter J. Turnbull, founder of the Boys Choir of Harlem.