Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 7, 2009, logo

World Cricket League Structure

The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League has been created to provide regular one-day cricket opportunities for those ICC Members outside the top tier.

It is a seven-division structure designed to afford teams of various standards the opportunity to play regular one-day cricket against similarly ranked opponents regardless of where in the world they are located.

It will also ensure that the qualifying pathway for the ICC Cricket World Cup is open to the 94 Associate and Affiliate Members.

The Division 1 event - won by hosts Kenya in February 2007, Division 7 event - won by Uganda in Australia in May 2007, Division 2 event - won by UAE in Namibia, Division 5 event - won by Afghanistan in Jersey, and the Division 4 event won by Afghanistan in Tanzania has already illustrated the benefits of the competition to Associate and Affiliate cricket.

The new structure of one-day cricket sits on top of the regional qualifying events to create a pyramid in which all teams have an opportunity to develop and an incentive to improve.

Promotion and regulation are possible between divisions as each team seeks to move up the world cricket rankings.

The Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 7 and 6 events will take place for the first time in 2009.

World Cricket League Structure chart

  • Download a pdf version of the above chart

ICC logoGuernsey Cricket Board logoCricketEurope logo