CCK11 Announcements and Posts http://cck11.mooc.ca/ Aggregated posts and resources for CCK11. By Stephen Downes and George Siemens. en-us Wed, 13 Apr 2011 06:29:32 -0400 Wed, 13 Apr 2011 06:29:32 -0400 http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss gRSShopper stephen@downes.ca stephen@downes.ca CCK11 Particiant Survey http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55186
It includes 14 open/closed questions (in order to gather detailed comments and opinions), divided into three categories related to:
- the attendance of the course
- the used technologies
- the specific personal views

Take the survey here:

part I (questions 1-7): http://questionpro.com/t/AFqmyZJt5R
part II (questions 8-14): http://questionpro.com/t/AFqmnZJugz

I will share with you the final results of the survey.

Dr. Luisa dall'Acqua
Cognitive Scientist - Senior Knowledge Management and Instructional Design Researcher
GSi EDU-Research Group - Switzerland , , April 13, 2011 [Comment]]>
Wed, 13 Apr 2011 06:28:51 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55186
End of the Course http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55184 , , April 8, 2011 [Comment]]> Fri, 8 Apr 2011 05:41:08 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55184 Friday Live Session http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55183 Friday: Live Session in Elluminate. Click here to access Elluminate.

Time: 8:00 p.m. Moscow; 5:00 p.m. London; 12 noon New York; 9:00 a.m. Los Angeles; midnight Thursday Beijing. Check your time zone here , , April 8, 2011 [Comment]]>
Fri, 8 Apr 2011 05:36:45 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55183
Wednesday Live Session http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55180 Click here to access Elluminate. Special Guest, Stian Haklev.

PLEASE note changed time from regular sessions two hours earlier

Time: 6:00 p.m. Moscow; 3:00 p.m. London; 10 am New York; 7:00 a.m. Los Angeles; Check your time zone here , , April 6, 2011 [Comment]]>
Wed, 6 Apr 2011 05:16:42 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55180
Week 12: Changing Views http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55176 Overview


The last several decades have brought about significant change in the information cycle (creation, validation, sharing, repurposing) and in how people interact with each other. Each era creates institutions that reflect the information-based needs they face. Libraries in Alexandria, the Academy in Greece, churches in the middle ages, and schools/universities (~800 years ago). If we want to understand the institutions a society will create, we must first understand the nature and attributes of information of that era. And that's what we've been doing so far in CCK11.

Readings



Seminars
  • Wednesday: Live Session: Location: Elluminate Stian Haklev
    PLEASE note changed time from regular sessions Time:6:00 p.m. Moscow; 3:00 p.m. London; 10 am New York; 7:00 a.m. Los Angeles;

  • Friday: Live Session: Location: Elluminate Facilitator's discussion.
    Time:8:00 p.m. Moscow; 5:00 p.m. London; 12 noon New York; 9:00 a.m. Los Angeles; midnight Saturday Beijing

, , April 3, 2011 [Comment]]>
Sun, 3 Apr 2011 18:49:05 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55176
April 8 Audio Recording http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55185 , CCK11, April 8, 2011 [Link] [Comment]]> Fri, 8 Apr 2011 12:11:45 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55185 Patterns of Change http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55181
This post isn't an attempt to be the final word on patterns of change. Rather, it is an attempt to introduce the idea and encourage people to think systematically about it. Stephen Downes, Stephen's Web, April 6, 2011 [Link] [Comment]]>
Wed, 6 Apr 2011 05:23:16 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55181
Networking Distributed Public Expertise: Strategies for Citizen Sourcing Advice to Government http://cck11.mooc.ca/post/55179
He makes a subtle point, which is masked a bit by the terminology. "Citizens are more than constituents, whose opinions are equally legitimate. Citizens also have the potential to be experts on particular issues... Citizens are not necessarily experts, but any given citizen might conceivably have expertise in some specific areas." If you just count people's opinions, you are ignoring the person's connection to the issue. You need to allow people with the interest, skills and expertise to contribute to a solution to connect with each other and to develop the solution themselves.

This kind of organization develops through three stages:
- Sharing - The ability to create linked documents, data, and objects within a distributed network
- Contributing - The ability to employ social networking applications of the Web to facilitate group communication
- Co-creating - The ability for individuals to collaborate through networks that facilitate cooperative group work toward shared goals

Via Seb Schmoller, who summarizes Hutton's nine strategies for for fostering bottom up initiatives to harness distributed public expertise. William H. Dutton, SSRN, April 5, 2011 [Link] [Comment]]>
Tue, 5 Apr 2011 11:58:40 -0400 http://cck11.mooc.ca//cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=55179