



The London Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

TUESDAY, 12TH MAY 1981

State Intelligence

The following notice is in substitution for that which appeared on page 6229 of the London Gazette dated 1st May 1981:

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1 12th May 1981

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 17th February 1981, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir John Anthony Kershaw, M.C. Professor Sir Frank Ewart Lawron. Sir Michael Vincent Levey, M.V.O.

Sir Geoffrey GILBERTSON, C.B.E.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 24th February 1981, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Charles Gaetan DUVAL.

Sir James Sidney Rawdon Scott-Hopkins, M.E.P. Sir Patrick Michael Meaney. Professor Sir Desmond Arthur Pond.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 3rd March 1981, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Rabindrah Ghurburrun.

Sir Julian Errington RIDSDALE, C.B.E., M.P. Sir Stephen James Leake ROBERTS.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 10th March 1981, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned: the Honour of

Sir James Winters CRUTHERS.

Sir Laurens Jan van der Post, C.B.E.

Sir Reginald Beaumont SMITH.

Sir James Douglas Spooner. Sir John Ross Stainton, C.B.E.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 24th March 1981, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned: the Honour of

Sir John Bertram ADAMS, C.M.G.

Sir Alan Armstrong HUGGINS. Sir Russel Tullie MADIGAN, O.B.E. Sir John Stewart WORDIE, C.B.E., V.R.D.

(Her Majesty's approval of these Knighthoods was signified on 31st December 1980.)

Under authority of a Royal Warrant, The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, at Government House, Canberra, on Friday, 20th March 1981, conferred the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Albert Francis Abbott.

Professor Sir Frank Adams CALLAWAY, C.M.G., O.B.E.

Sir Robert William COLE.

Sir Ronald Stuart ELLIOTT.

Sir John Lewtas Frew, O.B.E.

Sir Eric Paul McCLINTOCK.

The Reverend Dr. Sir Alan Edgar WALKER, O.B.E.

(Her Majesty's approval of these Knighthoods was signified on 31st December 1980.) (1 SI)

TREASURY

CERTIFICATES OF TAX DEPOSIT (SERIES 5)

On and after Monday, 11th May 1981 the rates of interest applicable to deposits accepted under the Prospectus (series 5) dated 31st July 1980 and applied in payment of a sched-uled liability will be $12\frac{1}{2}$ %. The rate of interest on deposits withdrawn for cash will be $9\frac{1}{2}$ %. A nil rate of bonus will apply to deposits held for more than six months and applied in payment of a scheduled liability. These rates remain in force until further notice.

On and after Monday, 11th May 1981 these rates also apply until further notice to deposits made under the earlier Prospectuses (Series 1, 2, 3 and 4) which reach the second or fourth anniversary of the deposits, as applicable, in accordance with the terms and conditions set out therein.

HM Treasury,

Parliament Street, London SW1P 3AG.

(7 SI)