Follow us on... FB FB Search the site...  


Icon   Skieur d'Or Award

Ski Image

This is an annual award given out in October before the start of each new ski race season. Votes are cast by members of the International Association of Ski Journalists (the AIJS) and are based on the performances for the previous winter season. There's only one award so members can vote for either male or female skiers. The award has been presented since 1963 and is also known as the Serge Lang Trophy after the founder of the FIS World Cup and former president of the AIJS - Serge Lang.

List of Award Winners

Year Winner Country M/F
2012 Marcel Hirscher Austria M
2011 Ivica Kostelic Croatia M
2010 Carlo Janka Switzerland M
2009 Lindsey Vonn USA F
2008 Matthias Lanzinger Austria M
2007 Aksel Lund Svindal Norway M
2006 Benjamin Raich Austria M
2005 Bode Miller USA M
2004 Hermann Maier Austria M
2003 Stephan Eberharter Austria M
2002 Stephan Eberharter Austria M
2001 Janica Kostelic Croatia F
2000 Kjetil Andre Aamodt Norway M
1999 Lasse Kjus Norway M
1998 Hermann Maier Austria M
1997 Luc Alphand France M
1996 Alberto Tomba Italy M
1995 Vreni Schneider Switzerland F
1994 Vreni Schneider Switzerland F
1993 Kjetil Andre Aamodt Norway M
1992 Alberto Tomba Italy M
1991 Marc Girardelli Luxembourg M
1990 Petra Kronberger Austria F
1990 Pirmin Zurbriggen Switzerland M
1989 Marc Girardelli Luxembourg M
1988 Alberto Tomba Italy M
1987 Pirmin Zurbriggen Switzerland M
1986 Maria Walliser Switzerland F
1985 Pirmin Zurbriggen Switzerland M
1984 Pirmin Zurbriggen Switzerland M
1983 Phil Mahre USA M
1982 Erika Hess Switzerland F
1981 Marie Theres Nadig Switzerland F
1980 Hanni Wenzel Liechtenstein F
1979 Ingemar Stenmark Sweden M
1978 Ingemar Stenmark Sweden M
1977 Ingemar Stenmark Sweden M
1976 Rosi Mittermaier Germany F
1975 Franz Klammer Austria M
1974 Gustav Thoeni Italy M
1973 Gustav Thoeni Italy M
1972 Bernhard Russi Switzerland M
1971 Annemarie Moser-Proell Austria F
1970 Karl Schranz Austria M
1969 Karl Schranz Austria M
1968 Nancy Greene Canada F
1967 Jean-Claude Killy France M
1966 Karl Schranz Austria M
1965 Jean-Claude Killy France M
1964 Marielle Goitschel France F
1964 Christine Goitschel France F
1963 Egon Zimmermann Austria M

Most Successful Nations

Number of Awards Country M/F
14 Austria M
11 Switzerland F
5 Italy M
5 France M
4 Norway M
3 Sweden M
2 Croatia F
2 Luxembourg M
1 Canada M
1 Liechtenstein M
1 Germany M

Male Winners v Female Winners

Number of Awards Gender
38 Male
14 Female

2012 Skieur d'Or Award

Marcel Hirscher, the charismatic 23 year old Austrian, has claimed the 2012 Skieur d'Or Award (also known as the Serge Lang Trophy) at the annual presentation before the opening race of the World Cup season at Solden.

Hirscher, from Annaberg-Lungotz in Salzburg, had a fantastic 2011-12 season, claiming the coveted Overall title, holding off the challenge of another rising star, the Swiss racer Beat Feuz, by a margin of just 25 points. Hirscher also claimed the Giant Slalom title and was third in the Slalom standings.

Many thought fellow Austrian Klaus Kroell was in with a shout of the award following his heroics last season in claiming the downhill title, but his nearest rivals for the award were actually Didier Cuche (it was the Swiss star's final season), Cuche's young compatriot Beat Feuz, and 2009 winner (and perennial Skieur d'Or nominee!) Lindsey Vonn.

Nearly 50 years after 24 year old Austrian Egon Zimmermann was named the first ever recipient of the Skieur d'Or award, Hirscher joins the ranks of great Austrian skiers who have won the title in the last decade - Benjamin Raich, Hermann Maier, Stephan Eberharter, whilst also joining legendary skiers Karl Schranz and Franz Klammer who also received the award.

2011 Skieur d'Or Award

10 years after his sister Janica Kostelic was given the award following her victories in the slalom, combined and overall competitions, elder brother Ivica Kostelic was honoured with the same award in 2011. Kostelic had a fantastic 2010-11 season, including an inspired January that saw him win 7 races during the month, a record that no other skier had previously achieved. Kostelic ended the season by winning both the slalom and overall titles, and was seen as reward for the injuries he'd had to fightback from throughout his career. Kostelic was given nearly a third of the votes and got the nod over rivals Didier Cuche, Maria Hoefl-Riesch and Christof Innerhofer.

2010 Skieur d'Or Award

Carlo Janka became the first Swiss male skier for 20 years to receive the honour since Pirmin Zurbriggen won it back in 1990 as he received around half of the votes and beat off strong competition from fellow Swiss skier Didier Cuche, Norwegian Aksel Lund Svindal and the American pair Lindsey Vonn and Bode Miller. Aged only 23 Janka had claimed the FIS World Cup Overall title for the 2009-10 season and also took Olympic gold in the Giant Slalom at Whistler. He was given the award at Solden in October before the first race of the season.

2009 Skieur d'Or Award

American skier Lindsey Vonn became the first female skier to win the award since Croatian Janica Kostelic back in 2001. There were some big names in the mix for the award, with previous winners Hermann Maier and Aksel Lund Svindal receiving plenty of votes, along with the ever-popular Didier Cuche and young Swiss stars Carlo Janka and Daniel Albrecht. However, Vonn collected enough votes to receive the prestigious award - well deserved following her gold medals in Downhill and Super-G at the Val d'Isere World Championships along with winning the season-long FIS World Cup Downhill, Super-G and Overall competitions.

Useful Links


The most viewed pages from visitors to the site over the last 7 days are currently...

The favourite pages amongst the Snow Kings writers are currently...

You may find this article relevant about Home Skieur d'Or Award