Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America

Image of a coffee cup, piping hot!


Author Emeritus

SFWA® Author Emeritus

SFWA inaugurated the Author Emeritus program in 1995 as a way to recognize and appreciate senior writers in the genres of science fiction and fantasy who have made significant contributions to our field but who are no longer active or whose excellent work may no longer be as widely known as it once was.

Authors Emeriti receive Lifetime Active memberships in SFWA, and are invited to speak at the Nebula Awards® Weekend. This year’s Nebula Awards Weekend will not feature an Author Emeritus.

Fiction by Authors Emeriti is collected in the anthology Architects of Dreams: The SFWA Author Emeritus Anthology.

2010 – Neal Barrett

2009 – M. J. Engh

2008 – Ardath Mayhar

2007 – D. G. Compton

2006 – William F. Nolan

2004 – Charles F. Harness

2003 – Katherine MacLean

2001 – Robert Sheckley

2000 – Daniel Keyes

1999 – William Tenn (Philip Klass)

1998 – Nelson Slade Bond

1997 – Judith Merril

1996 – Wilson “Bob” Tucker

1995 – Emil Petaja