Press release: The Last Of The Famous International Playboys: Special Edition single; Kill Uncle: Album remastered

5 February 2013

Parlophone Presents:

'The Last Of The Famous International Playboys'

Special edition 7" single picture disc b/w recent Morrissey radio sessions


Kill Uncle album remastered

Release date: 8th April 2013

Following the release last year of the remastered edition of Viva Hate, Parlophone Records will continue their Morrissey reissue campaign with the release of a limited edition 7-inch picture disc of the classic Morrissey single 'The Last Of The Famous International Playboys' and a remastered version of his second album, Kill Uncle.

Originally released in 1989, 'The Last Of The Famous International Playboys' was Morrissey's third single and charted at number 6 in the UK. The song tackles the media glamorisation of, and public hypocrisy regarding, crime - in particular, the sensationalism of how mass-murderers are always automatically awarded the media fame that they crave. It will be available on 7" picture disc single, CD single and digital download. All three formats are backed with recent Morrissey radio sessions: 'People Are The Same Everywhere (BBC live version)', 'Action Is My Middle Name (BBC live version)' and 'The Kid's A Looker (BBC live version)', all of which were recorded exclusively for the Janice Long Show on Radio 2, on 15th June 2011. See below for format details.

In addition, on the same day, a remastered version of Kill Uncle will be released. This new version of Kill Uncle has a re-ordered tracklisting and, with the addition of the songs 'Pashernate Love' and 'East West' (a Herman's Hermits cover), as well the 'live in studio' version of 'There's A Place In Hell For Me And My Friends', the album has a revitalised quality, which accentuates some of its more subtle, experimental qualities and nuances; in particular, some of the more unusual musical styles which Morrissey explored for the first time. Upon its release in the UK, the album charted at number 8, and in the US, at number 52.

Kill Uncle has been remastered by Bill Inglot at D2 Mastering. It will be available as a gatefold CD and heavyweight gatefold LP. The picture disc single and album will both feature rare Morrissey photos and Kill Uncle will have a new cover. The artwork will be unveiled soon.

Kill Uncle tracklisting:

1. Our Frank
2. Sing Your Life
3. Mute Witness
4. King Leer
5. Asian Rut
6. Pashernate Love
7. East West
8. Found Found Found
9. Driving Your Girlfriend Home
10.The Harsh Truth Of The Camera Eye
11.There's A Place In Hell For Me And My Friends (live in the studio version)
12. (I'm) The End Of The Family Line

'The Last Of The Famous International Playboys' formats:

7-inch single b/w 'People Are The Same Everywhere (BBC live version)'
CD single – comes with 'Action Is My Middle Name (BBC live version)'
Digital download – plus 'The Kid's A Looker (BBC live version)'