Under New Mexico law, the age of majority for both male and female is 18 years of age. Any person 16 years of age or older can become an "emancipated minor" by entering into a valid marriage, by serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, or by receiving a declaration of emancipation under New Mexico’s Emancipation of Minors Act. This last method allows a court to declare a minor emancipated if the minor lives away from his parents or guardian, manages his own financial affairs, and the court believes it to be in the minor’s best interest to emancipate him or her.
A minor is bound to the contracts he or she makes for such necessities as food, clothing, and housing. Regarding other contracts, a minor is bound to the contract unless he disaffirms or sets aside the contract within a reasonable amount of time after reaching the age of 18, and restores all of the money or property involved in the contract then under his control. Note that New Mexico has made minors liable on any contracts or loans taken out for educational purposes, such as student loans.
If a minor enters into any contract by misrepresentation as to his or her age, and the other party had reason to believe the minor was over 18, then the minor may still be bound by his contract. A legally married person is considered to have obtained majority in all matters relating to contracts, property rights and liberties and has the capacity to sue and be sued.