AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie has been named the npower League 1 Player of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Ritchie received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

The midfielder beat two other shortlisted League 1 players to the Award, Coventry City's Leon Clarke and Notts County's Alan Judge.

Ritchie is no stranger to accolades having picked up the npower League 2 Player of the Year trophy at The Football League Awards last year as part of the promotion-winning Swindon Town team. He's back again this season having stepped up to npower League 1 with aplomb.

The winger's performances for Swindon in the first half of the season saw promotion rivals AFC Bournemouth make a move for him in January, with the former Portsmouth academy player returning to the south coast to help Eddie Howe's bid to take the Cherries into the npower Championship.

On winning his award, Ritchie said: "I was surprised to be in the top three so, to win the award, I am more than a bit speechless.

"It is a massive award and to think that they I have got this award in League 1, 12 months after picking up the League 2 award is very satisfying."

The npower Player of the Year for the Championship was won by Watford's Matej Vydra, while the League 2 Award went to Port Vale's Tom Pope.

The shortlists were produced after managers from every club were asked to submit their top five players of the season from their division, excluding players from their own club.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Blackpool's Thomas Ince, who walked away with the npower Young Player of the Year and Bradford City's Phil Parkinson who won the award for Outstanding Managerial Achievement.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit