The Diocese of Sydney is one of the 23 dioceses of the Anglican Church of Australia.



A "diocese" is the geographic area that comes under the jurisdiction of a bishop. Each of the dioceses of the Anglican Church of Australia (other than Tasmania) forms part of a Province. There are 5 provinces in the Anglican Church of Australia – New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. The Province of New South Wales consists of 7 dioceses – Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra/Goulburn, Armidale, Grafton, Bathurst and Riverina.

The chief bishop of each province is entitled the "metropolitan" and takes the title "Archbishop". The Archbishop of Sydney is bishop of the Diocese of Sydney and metropolitan of the Province of New South Wales.

The diocese of Sydney stretches from Broken Bay in the north, to just north of Bateman's Bay in the south and out to Lithgow and Jenolan Caves in the west, as shown in the map below. It is one of the smallest dioceses in Australia geographically but the largest in terms of numbers attending church within its boundaries.



- 1. South Sydney Region
- 2. Georges River Region

The Archbishop

The Archbishop is the bishop of the Diocese of Sydney. He is supported by the Registrar, the Professional Standards Unit and the Diocesan Archives.

The Archbishop is based in St Andrew's House, Sydney



Regional Bishops and Archdeacons

The diocese is divided into 5 regions. There is a Regional Bishop (assisted by an Archdeacon) for each region and each region has a regional council that exercises certain functions in relation to that region.

The regions are:

Northern Region

South Sydney Region Georges River Region Western Sydney Region Wollongong Region



Glenn Davies, Bishop of North Sydney



Robert Forsyth, Bishop of



Peter Tasker, Bishop of Liverpool



Ivan Lee, Bishop of Western



Al Stewart, Bishop of Wollongong

The offices of these regions are based in St Andrew's House, Sydney The offices of these regions are based in Parramatta and Wollongong respectively

http://your.sydneyanglicans.net/senior_clergy/

You will find further information on each bishop and the region they represent.

Appeals Division

The Archbishop conducts fund raising appeals through his Appeals Office

- Winter Appeal
- Overseas Appeal
- Other Appeals

From previous page

Parishes

There are 268 parishes within the Diocese. The Archbishop appoints a member of the clergy as the minister of each parish, and may appoint other clergy as assistant ministers.

Each parish usually has -

- One or more churches each with 3 churchwardens, and
- A parish council made up of elected and appointed members of the parish

Sometimes a parish is administered through its congregations rather than its churches. In this case there are 3 parish wardens for the parish as a whole

Parishes are grouped together into "area deaneries" for clergy to network and support each other in their ministries

Chaplains

The Archbishop appoints members of the clergy to exercise non-parochial ministry in the Diocese as chaplains

- Schools
- Universities
- Gaols
- Hospitals

Other Licensed Clergy

- Employed by diocesan or other organisations
- Retired clergy
- Other clergy holding a General Licence or Authority to Officiate

Laypersons holding authorities

The Archbishop also authorises lay people to exercise certain ministries in the Diocese

- Deaconesses
- Youth Workers
- Catechists
- Diocesan Readers
- Parish Readers
- Stipendiary Lay Workers

The Diocese consists of a number of organisations, boards and committees that are responsible for the governance of the Church. The following chart shows how governance is exercised in the Diocese.

Synod and the Archbishop

The Synod is an assembly of representatives from every parish in the diocese, and other persons elected by the Archbishop or the Standing Committee. The minister of each parish in the diocese is a member of the Synod. Each parish also elects 1 or 2 lay people to be members of the Synod as its lay representatives.

The Synod is established under the constitution of the church to make rules for the order and good government of the Church is the Diocese.

It meets for 5 days each year, usually in October

Standing Committee (Synod in Recess)

The Standing Committee is made up of approximately 60 people (either ex-officio or elected) who meet monthly to exercise many of the powers of the Synod when it is not meeting.

The Standing Committee has a number of subcommittees that deal with specific issues eg.

- Finance Committee (various financial matters for parishes and Anglican organisations)
- Stipends and Allowances Committee (looks after stipends and allowances of parish ministry staff)

Various Anglican Organisations (both unincorporated and bodies corporate)

- Glebe Administration Board
- Sydney Diocesan Secretariat
- Regional Councils
- Anglican Youthworks
- Anglican Retirement Villages
- Anglicare
- Moore Theological College
- Anglican Media
- Sydney Anglican Schools Corporation
- Other Anglican Schools
- Various other boards and councils

Clergy Appointments, Licences and Discipline

- Various tribunals and committees dealing with inquiries into disciplinary matters
- Presentation Board (for new parish appointments)
- Retirements Board (for retiring clergy)

Parish Property Management

- Churchwardens
- Parish Councils

Most parish property is vested in the corporate trustee of the Diocese, Anglican Church Property Trust Diocese of Sydney. Some property remains vested in the Archbishop or in private trustees.