

MEDIA ANNOUNCEMENT

August 25, 2010

Contact: Jeff Lockhart (214) 768-4314

lockhart@smu.edu

2010 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

DALLAS, TEXAS - The PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum announced today the candidates for the 2010 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

The field of candidates is highlighted by the nation's leading returning rusher, Dion Lewis from Pitt; 2009 Doak Walker Award finalist and Heisman Trophy recipient, Mark Ingram from the University of Alabama; and Ryan Williams from Virginia Tech who ranked third nationally and led the ACC in rushing last season.

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Anthony Allen (Sr.), Georgia Tech Armando Allen (Sr.), Notre Dame Victor Anderson (Jr.), Louisville Jeremy Avery (Sr.), Boise State Baron Batch (Sr.), Texas Tech Donald Buckram (Sr.), UTEP John Clay (Jr.), Wisconsin Lennon Creer (Jr.), Louisiana Tech Jeff Demps (Jr.), Florida Noel Devine (Sr.), West Virginia Lance Dunbar (Jr.), UNT Darren Evans (Jr.), Virginia Tech Mario Fannin (Sr.), Auburn Jay Finley (Sr.), Baylor Frank Goodin (Sr.), Louisiana Monroe Cyrus Gray (Jr.), Texas A&M Montel Harris (Jr.), Boston College Dan Herron (Jr.), Ohio State Kendall Hunter (Sr.), Oklahoma State Mark Ingram (Jr.), Alabama Eugene Jarvis (Sr.), Kent State Dennis Johnson (Jr.), Arkansas Mikel Leshoure (Jr.), Illinois Dion Lewis (So.), Pittsburgh

MiQuale Lewis (Sr.), Ball State

Derrick Locke (Sr.), Kentucky Christine Michael (So.), Texas A&M Alfred Morris (Jr.), Florida Atlantic Richard Murphy (Sr.), LSU Vince Murray (Sr.), Navy DeMarco Murray (Sr.), Oklahoma Bernard Pierce (So.), Temple Bilal Powell (Sr.), Louisville Alexander Robinson (Sr.), Iowa State Jacquizz Rodgers (Jr.), Oregon State Evan Royster (Sr.), Penn State Brandon Saine (Sr.), Ohio State Da'Rel Scott (Sr.), Maryland Chad Spann (Sr.), Northern Illinois Rodney Stewart (Jr.), Colorado Phillip Tanner (Sr.), Middle Tennessee Vai Taua (Sr.), Nevada Daniel Thomas (Sr.), Kansas State Jordan Todman (Jr.), Connecticut Matthew Tucker (So.), TCU Derrick Washington (Sr.), Missouri Ed Wesley (So.), TCU Eddie Wide (Sr.), Utah Ryan Williams (So.), Virginia Tech

2010 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement Page 2

The PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on November 10, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 22. The Committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 29 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2010 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN on *The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 9. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, in February 2011.

The award, in its 21th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 21 years, the PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org

-doakwalkeraward.com-