

UEFA Women's Champions League

Overview

Initially introduced as the UEFA Women's Cup, the UEFA Women's Champions League is the first and currently unique international club competition for women in Europe.

At its meeting in Paris on 23 May 2000, the UEFA Executive Committee approved the proposal to introduce a European women's club competition, and thus the UEFA Women's Cup came into being. For its ninth edition in 2009/10 it was relaunched as the UEFA Women's Champions League as per an Executive Committee decision in December 2008. The revamp of the competition was part of UEFA's strategy to promote women's football in general and to raise the status and prestige of this specific competition, in order to align it with the UEFA Champions League as UEFA's top club competition for women.

The first competition was held in 2001/02 with 33 participating teams. 1. FFC Frankfurt won the first UEFA Women's Cup ever with a 2-0 victory against Umeå IK from Sweden. Six different clubs have triumphed in the ten finals played to date, with the German teams clearly showing their supremacy in European women's football (6 successes in total).

The number of entries increased over the years, culminating with 54 participants for the 2011/12 season. Access to the competition is determined by a performance table (UEFA association coefficient rankings), calculated on the basis of the results obtained by the associations' clubs over five seasons. As of 2009/10 the eight highest-ranked associations can enter a second representative next to their national champion.

Format

Until 2008/09, the UEFA Women's Cup included two qualifying rounds, played in the form of mini-tournaments, followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals played on a home-and-away basis (with the exception of the very first final, played in a single match).

Since the 2009/10 season, the UEFA Women's Champions League starts with a qualifying group stage, where four-team groups play round-robin fixtures in one venue. The group winners and, depending on the number of entries, potentially one or more runners-up earn a place in the knockout stages, which begin with the round of 32, then continue with the round of 16, all ties being played over two legs until the final, held on the Thursday before the men's UEFA Champions League in the same city. This season's competition will conclude in Munich on Thursday, 17 May 2012.

For the first time in 2010, prize-money was paid to the finalist teams. In 2011 the bonus payments were extended to more clubs with the defeated quarter-finalists receiving EUR 25,000, the defeated semi-finalists EUR 50,000, the runners-up EUR 200,000 and the winners EUR 250,000.

At the time of the relaunch, a new trophy was unveiled, with spiralling arms and a central body to provide a vision of dynamism and strength. The trophy stands 60 cm high, weighs 10 kg and is made of sterling silver.



Finals

Season	Winners	Finalists	Score	Venue
2001/02	1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)	Umeå IK (SWE)	2-0	Frankfurt am Main
2002/03	Umeå IK (SWE)	Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)	4 – 1 and 3 – 0	Home-and-away matches
2003/04	Umeå IK (SWE)	1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)	3 – 0 and 5 – 0	Home-and-away matches
2004/05	1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)	Djurgården/Älvsjö (SWE)	2 – 0 and 3 – 1	Home-and-away matches
2005/06	1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)	1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)	4 – 0 and 3 – 2	Home-and-away matches
2006/07	Arsenal LFC (ENG)	Umeå IK (SWE)	1 – 0 and 0 – 0	Home-and-away matches
2007/08	1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)	Umeå IK (SWE)	1 – 1 and 3 – 2	Home-and-away matches
2008/09	FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER)	WFC Zvezda 2005 Perm (RUS)	6 – 0 and 1 – 1	Home-and-away matches
2009/10	1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)	Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)	0 – 0 (7-6 Penalty kicks)	Getafe/Madrid
2010/11	Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)	1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)	2-0	London

For additional information please contact:

UEFA Media Services T: +41 848 04 27 27 @: media@uefa.ch

UEFA.com