

## The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship was launched for the 2007/2008 season, having been approved by the UEFA Executive Committee on 22 May 2006.

The decision to begin the annual competition followed the inauguration of the biennial FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup for 2008 – the European tournament acting as a qualifier when in the same year as the global finals – and also allowed UEFA to underline further its commitment to women's football and recognise the continual increase of activities in this sector. UEFA also hoped that this new championship would encourage and motivate those member associations who do not currently take part in a women's European competition to do so.

UEFA's expectations were exceeded when 40 nations participated in the first edition, with the first qualifying round drawn in February 2007. The tournament saw four teams progress to the finals and UEFA itself host the event at its Swiss base in Nyon. Germany were to emerge as the first champions ahead of France, Denmark and England, who all qualified for the World Cup.

The following year Germany retained the title by defeated Spain, with France beating Norway to finish third. Germany's run was ended by the Republic of Ireland in the 2010 semi-finals, but Spain went on to take the title on penalties. This year sees newcomers Iceland play champions Spain and two-time winners Germany play France.

The Women's Under-17 tournament is part of a strong portfolio of female continental competitions, along with the Under-19 Championship won in June 2011 by Germany, the UEFA Women's Champions League, currently held by Olympique Lyonnais and the UEFA European Women's Championship, the finals of which will take place in July 2013 in Sweden.

UEFA counts over 1.8 million registered female players and its continued commitment to women's football is notably highlighted through its HatTrick initiative, UEFA's investment programme for national associations. In December 2010, the Executive Committee pledged to spend €100,000 per member association per year on developing the women's game between 2012 and 2016. In addition, four national associations were selected to receive €50,000 of funding as part of a pilot scheme launched in 2010/11 and results are already coming into fruition with the Republic of Ireland setting up a national women's league and Portugal staging a women's football day. Following the success of this pilot scheme, it was decided to renew the operation for the 2011/12 season, increasing the availability of funding to 40 national associations.

## **Key Women's Under-17 Championship Statistics:**

2009/10 champions: Spain 2010/11 participating associations: 41

2010/11 biggest win: Germany 9-0 Russia

2010/11 top scorer Aldís Kara Lúdvíksdóttir (Iceland) - 11 goals

Final tournament appearances (inc.2011) Germany - 4

France and Spain - 3

Iceland - 1

## **Additional Information:**

For additional information please visit UEFA.com or email <a href="media@uefa.ch">media@uefa.ch</a>