Flight Safety Logo

FSF E-Mail Subscription Service

This is a free service to receive notification of the most current Flight Safety Foundation publications, news releases, seminars and other special events by e-mail. Please provide your contact information and select your areas of interest in the fields below. Fields marked with an * and in red are required.

After submitting this form you will receive a confirmation e-mail - click on the link contained in the e-mail to confirm you are subscribed to our E-mail Subscription Service.

Already a subscriber? Login here to change your status or info.

Email *

First Name *

Last Name *

Job Title *

Company *

Business Type *






Work Phone

Subscribe to:
AeroSafety World
Corporate Aviation Safety Seminar (CASS)
European Aviation Safety Seminar (EASS)
International Air Safety Seminar (IASS)
News Releases
Other Events
Special Announcements and Other Information

Privacy Policy: Flight Safety Foundation (FSF) is committed to using responsibly any private information submitted by visitors to its site: flightsafety.org. The Foundation is the sole owner of information collected on this site and will not sell, share or rent this information to others in ways different from what is disclosed in its privacy statement. For more information, review our entire Privacy Statement.

Aviation Week & Space Technology Distinguished Service Award

FSF Professionalism Award in Flight Safety

The FSF Professionalism Award in Flight Safety was instituted in 1993 to recognize acts of valor performed in the line of duty. The award is given to crewmembers who, by relying on skill and quick thinking, display outstanding professional performance or service in the cause of flight safety. Recipients have included flight crewmembers whose aircraft were hijacked or lost crucial parts or systems while in flight. The award includes a hand-lettered citation.

Recipients of the
FSF Professionalism in Flight Safety Award
2011 Capt. Richard Champion de Crespigny, Capt David Evans, Capt. Harry Wubben, First Officer, Matthew Hicks, Second Officer, Mark Johnson, and Customer Service Manager, Klaus Michael von Reth, Qantas Flight 32
2010 No award
2009 No award
2008 No award
2007 Capt. Annette Saunders and First Officer Mitchell Merchant, NetJets
2006 No award
2005 Capt. Jim Gerrell, First Officer Jason Broadwell, Capt. Byron Smith
2004 Capt. Eric Gennotte, First Officer Steeve Michielsen and Flight Engineer Mario Rofail, DHL
2003 Capt. James K. Almlie and First Officer Mark J. Abbott, FedEx Express
2002 No award
2001 Capt. Doug Schull, First Officer Bill Duus and
Second Officer Bob Mazur, Continental Airlines
2000 No award
1999 No award
1998 No award
1997 Capt. Leul Abate, Ethiopian Airlines
1996 No award
1995 No award
1994 No award
1993 Capt. Carlos Justiniano; Capt. Ed Wyer