Roster of Georgia's Secretaries of State

Constitutions from 1798-1877 directed that the governor, secretary of state, and treasurer would be elected by the General Assembly. In 1880, Nathan C. Barnett became the first secretary of state elected by Georgia's voters. Originally a two-year term, the office changed to a four-year term in 1946.

	NAME	TERM OF SERVICE	NOTES
1	John Milton	1777 - 1799	
2	Horatio Marbury	1799 - 1811	
3	Abner Hammond	1811 - 1823	
4	Everard Hamilton	1823 - 1833	
5	William A. Tennille	1833 - 1843	
6	Nathan Crawford Barnett	1843 - 1849	
7	George Washington Harrison	1849 - 1851	
8	Nathan Crawford Barnett	1851 - 1853	
9	Elihu P. Watkins	1853 - 1861	
10	Nathan Crawford Barnett	1861 - 1868	
11	David G. Cotting	1868 - 1873	1st Republican SOS
12	Nathan Crawford Barnett	1873 - 2/2/1890	Died in office
13		2/5/1890 – 5/20/1894	Died in office
14	Allen Daniel Candler	1894 - 1898	
15	William C. Clifton	3/31/1898 –10/28/1898	Elected GA Senate
16	Philip Cook, Jr.	10/29/1898 - 3/19/1918	Died in office
17	Henry Bascomb Strange	1918 – 6/28/1919	
18	Samuel Guyton McLendon	1919 – 3/8/1928	Died in office
19	George Henry Carswell	3/10/1928 – 6/27/1931	
20	John Bryan Wilson	1931 – 2/22/1946	Died in office
21	Benjamin Wynn "Ben" Fortson, Jr.	2/25/1946 – 5/19/1979	Died in office
22	David Bryan Poythress	6/4/1979 - 1983	
23	Joseph Maxwell "Max" Cleland	1/1983 – 1/1996	Resigned to run for U.S. Senate
24	Lewis Abit Massey	1/5/1996 – 1999	
25	Lera Catharine "Cathy" Cox	1999 - 2007	1st woman SOS
26	Karen C. Handel	1/8/2007 – 12/30/2009	1st Republican woman SOS. Resigned to run for Governor
27	Brian P. Kemp	1/8/2010 - present	