Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority

The Australian Curriculum
Learning Areas / Subjects
National Trade Cadetships
Cross-Curriculum Priorities
General Capabilities
Student Diversity
Alternative Curriculum Recognition
Information Materials


ACARA is responsible for the development of the Australian Curriculum from Foundation to Year 12. The development of the Australian Curriculum will occur over three broad timeframes and is guided by two key documents: the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians and the Shape of the Australian Curriculum.

Progress of the Australian Curriculum

Click on the learning area links for more information.


Arts F-10

English F-10

English 11-12

Health and Physical Education F-10

Civics and Citizenship 3-10

Economics and Business 5-10

Geography F-12

History F-10

History 11-12

Languages F-10

Mathematics F-10

Mathematics 11-12

Science F-10

Science 11-12

Technologies F-10

National Trade Cadetships F-10

National Trade Cadetships 11-12

Humanities shape