2013072120

Chris Froome

  • DOB20 May 1985
  • Age28
  • Height 1.86m
  • Weight69kg
  • NationalityBritish
  • Birth PlaceNairobi, Kenya

Next Race

Not Available

Chris Froome PROFILE

Rider Profile

Chris Froome burst onto the scene by finishing runner up at the 2011 Vuelta a Espana, and since then has cemented his reputation as one of the best Grand Tour riders on the planet. At the 2012 Tour de France he and Bradley Wiggins achieved a remarkable one-two triumph for Team Sky, and Froome had also added an Olympic bronze medal to his collection before he rounded off the season with another top-four finish at the Vuelta.

The Kenyan-born Brit’s attacking style has seen him produce some of the most memorable stage victories of the last few seasons, like when he went toe-to-two with Juan Jose Cobo at the 2011 Vuelta, and then out-climbed Cadel Evans to win his first Tour stage on La Planche des Belles Filles in 2012. The world is his oyster again in 2013.

Q & A

  • Who inspired you to start cycling?

    Cycling was my freedom from a young age.
  • First bike:

    It was my brother's old bike which had a steel frame and shifters on the downtube.
  • First cycling club:

    The Super C Cycling Academy in South Africa.
  • Childhood hero:

    I really looked up to Jens Voigt and his aggressive style of racing. He was always in breakaways and driving them on.
  • What do you love most about cycling?

    It's a way of de-stressing and it leaves you feeling good during and after the ride.
  • What keeps you going when you're on the limit?

    I go into survival mode and tell myself that the other riders have to be feeling the same as I am.
  • What has cycling taught you?

    That what you want to achieve can be achieved if you go about it the right way - plan, work hard and set appropriate goals.
  • What teams did you ride for before Team Sky?

    2007 Konica-Minolta; 2008-09 Barloworld
  • Favourite race:

    Although it doesn't really suit my style at the moment, I'd have to say Paris-Roubaix.
  • Favourite ride:

    Mountain biking through the Kenyan bush. I've seen herds of elephants and plenty of other wildlife, but thankfully nothing too dangerous.
  • If you weren't a rider, what would you be?

    I did an economics degree after school so I'd probably be behind a desk in an office somewhere.
  • Interests away from cycling:

    I love being outdoors. Wildlife and sport in general
  • Favourite film:

    Shawshank Redemption
  • Favourite music:

    Coldplay
  • Who makes you laugh the most on Team Sky?

    Bernie and Richie always come up with amusing lines and keep things light during training.
  • Best friend in the peloton:

    Richie Porte
  • Favourite food:

    My girlfriend's chocolate brownies
  • Most famous person you've met:

    Nelson Mandela
  • Most embarrassing moment:

    Crashing into a race marshall during the U23 World Championships in Salzburg.
  • Interesting fact:

    As an eight-year old in Kenya, I used to sell avocados off the back of my bike for pocket money.
  • Best advice:

    If you want something badly enough you'll find a way to make it happen.
  • Rider website:

    www.chris-froome.com

Career Highlights

2005

Tour of Mauritius - 1st stage two

2006

Tour of Mauritius - 1st stages two and three

2007

Tour of Japan - 1st stage six

2009

Giro delle Regione - 1st stage five; Giro del Capo II - 1st

2011

Vuelta a Espana - 2nd overall and 1st stage 17; Tour of Beijing - 3rd overall

2012

Tour de France - 2nd overall and 1st stage seven; Olympic Games - Time trial bronze medal;

Vuelta a Espana - 4th overall